ARC Review, Netgalley

ARC Review: Pisces by Rachel Medhurst

25223914

The bracelet around my wrist was a permanent reminder of my mission. The silver charm that was attached to the leather cord was stamped with my birth sign. Mission: Unite with my twin flame soulmate in this lifetime.

My brothers, sisters, and I were each named after the star sign we were born under. We knew that our soul purpose was to fall madly in love and battle through the obstacles that led to that true love.

Antony crept up on me and caught me unaware. He was nothing like I’d imagined my twin flame soulmate to be. When he started to run, I found that I had to give chase. I had to complete my mission.

Review:

I received a digital copy of the book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Honestly, speaking, I have been quite interested in Zodiacs being the focal point of a book ever since i read Zodiac by Romina Russell (and loved it, FYI!). While I know it’s bad taste to mention another book while reviewing one, I have to tell you, that I have always considered Zodiac signs and their relationships to be a whimsical experience that is to be taken under advisement. But Z totally changed my perception about it being the foundation of a book and when I read the blurb for this book, I just had to request it – and no, I do not believe in soul mates either 😛

“A Twin flame is a spiritual concept describing a special love soul connection between two soul people. Twin flames are thought to be the same soul split in two. The masculine and feminine counterparts make up one soul. When they unite they become one.”

The book is about Pisces and her 11 siblings (all named after Zodiac signs). Their only reason to be in this world, is to unite with their Twin Flame or their soul mate in the universe – not because they are incomplete without them, but because if they do, there will be a little more love in this world.

While I agree with the concept of the book – boy do i! I found the book to be a little hard to get involved with. No, there wasn’t anything wrong with the writing, but I don’t think the characters themselves were cooperating with the author and it showed.

Pisces, came across as a spoilt little girl who even though understood intellectually that she is supposed to meet her Twin Flame, does everything in her power to ruin her chances.

Antony, on the other hand, is a little hard to read. While I agreed with his being a little leary of being everything to a girl he has only just met, the sudden way he immediately does an about turn was a little irritating.

And that is why, I think this book should have been a two person POV – not just because I like it better that way – but because it would have been better treated that way. It would have given a sense of closure.

The fact there are also bad guys thrown in, and the action in the book, definitely did perk me up a bit and yes, I do look forward to how the rest of siblings interact with the villain, cause I have this tiny feeling that says he might be more gray than black!

I am still sticking with this series, because I really love the foundation of the storyline and since each zodiac sign will get their own book,  I have a feeling this series has a potential to be quite interesting as long as the characters are somewhat relatable!

Also, I have to say, reading this one and the sneak peak I got into the other signs – I am quite looking forward to Aries – which comes out at the end of May!

Rating:

⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Recommendation:

I would recommend this book if you are interested in some new plot or story lines. Yes, this book might seem a little silly at first but as I said, there is a chance the rest of the series might be better, after all the it is only the first book!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

1 thought on “ARC Review: Pisces by Rachel Medhurst”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.