ARC Review

ARC Review: I Was Born For This by Alice Oseman

For Angel Rahimi, life is only about one thing: The Ark – a pop-rock trio of teenage boys who are currently taking the world by storm. Being part of The Ark’s fandom has given her everything – her friendships, her dreams, her place in the world.

Jimmy Kaga-Ricci owes everything to The Ark too. He’s their frontman – and playing in a band is all he’s ever dreamed of doing. It’s just a shame that recently everything in his life seems to have turned into a bit of a nightmare.

Because that’s the problem with dreaming – eventually, inevitably, real life arrives with a wake-up call. And when Angel and Jimmy are unexpectedly thrust together, they will discover just how strange and surprising facing up to reality can be.

Continue reading “ARC Review: I Was Born For This by Alice Oseman”

Advertisements
ARC Review

ARC Review: The Sky At Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. 

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Sky At Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi”

ARC Review

ARC Review: The Hazel Wood (The Hazel Wood #1) by Melissa Albert

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the strange bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate – the Hazel Wood – Alice learns how bad her luck can really get. Her mother is stolen away – by a figure who claims to come from the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother’s stories are set. Alice’s only lead is the message her mother left behind: STAY AWAY FROM THE HAZEL WOOD. 

To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother’s tales began….

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Hazel Wood (The Hazel Wood #1) by Melissa Albert”

ARC Review

ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr

Ella Black seems to live the life most other seventeen-year-olds would kill for . . .

Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro. Determined to find out why, Ella takes her chance and searches through their things.

And realises her life has been a lie.

Her mother and father aren’t hers at all. Unable to comprehend the truth, Ella runs away, to the one place they’ll never think to look – the favelas.

But there she learns a terrible secret – the truth about her real parents and their past. And the truth about a mother, desperate for a daughter taken from her seventeen years ago . . .

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr”

Book Review

Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Continue reading “Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia”

ARC Review

ARC Review: Along The Indigo by Elsie Chapman

The town of Glory is famous for two things: businesses that front for seedy, if not illegal, enterprises and the suicides that happen along the Indigo River. Marsden is desperate to escape the “bed-and-breakfast” where her mother works as a prostitute—and where her own fate has been decided—and she wants to give her little sister a better life. But escape means money, which leads Mars to skimming the bodies that show up along the Indigo River. It’s there that she runs into Jude, who has secrets of his own and whose brother’s suicide may be linked to Mars’s own sordid family history. As they grow closer, the two unearth secrets that could allow them to move forward . . . or chain them to the Indigo forever.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Along The Indigo by Elsie Chapman”

Blog Tour

Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: The Final Six by Alexandra Monir

Welcome to the Blog Tour for The Final Six by Alexandra Monir. Check out My Review + an amazing Giveaway on the blog today via Jean Book Nerd.

Continue reading “Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: The Final Six by Alexandra Monir”

ARC Review

ARC Review: Slay by Kim Curran

Meet SLAY – SLAY do two things and they do them well: they play killer music and they slay killer demons.

When Milly, the lonely daughter of a world-famous opera singer, arrives home to discover that her mum has been taken over by something very evil, she finds herself in mortal danger. But the last people she expects to rescue her are the hottest boy band on the planet…

Enter SLAY: playing kickass gigs in the spotlight, and saving the world from demons in the shadows… Suddenly, Milly’s on the road with JD, Tom, Niv, Zek and Connor, racing against the clock to stop the demons who killed her mum… One thing’s for sure, it’s going to be a hell of a show!

Continue reading “ARC Review: Slay by Kim Curran”

Book Review

Book Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

This Six of Crows Duology were my pick for #2018FWTBRPick for the month of February – this is my way of trying to take care of my uncontrollable TBR this year and you can read about it all HERE.   Continue reading “Book Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo”

ARC Review

ARC Review: Trickster by Vinaya Bhaga

It lurks in the shadows. It lives in your worst nightmares. It feeds on your deepest fears. It’s the Master Trickster, and it’s coming to get you. When she loses her parents in an accident, Diya Mathur’s world collapses around her. As far as she knows, she’s alone in the world now – till a mysterious letter arrives from India. Suddenly, Diya has a chance at being part of a family again. But moving from Boston to India also brings Diya closer to the place where the horror of the Chakwa – the Master Trickster – first started. As bodies and tragedies pile up around her, Diya’s belief in the urban myth of the Chakwa increases. Will the monster that ruined her parents’ life now destroy Diya’s happiness? Or will she manage to defeat him at his own game? With the help of her newly discovered friends and family, Diya must fight not just the monster from her nightmares, but also make sense of a fast-unravelling web of lies that makes up her life.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Trickster by Vinaya Bhaga”