Tag Archives: Thriller

A Brilliant Yet Scary Look at the Pitfalls of a Technologically Advanced Future | ARC Review: Beauty Sleep by Kathryn Evans

Laura was dying. There was no cure for her illness. So her family decided to grasp a desperate last hope – Laura was frozen until she could be cured.

But what happens when you wake up one day and the world has moved on forty years? Your best friend is middle-aged, your parents presumed dead. Could you find a new place to belong? Could you build a new life – while solving the mystery of what happened to the old one?

Dark secrets lurk in the future of the girl from the past…

Continue reading A Brilliant Yet Scary Look at the Pitfalls of a Technologically Advanced Future | ARC Review: Beauty Sleep by Kathryn Evans

A Fascinating Start to What Looks Like to Be an Intriguing Fantasy Series | ARC Review: Upon a Burning Throne (Burnt Empire Saga #1) by Ashok K. Banker

From international sensation Ashok K. Banker, pioneer of the fantasy genre in India, comes the first book in a ground-breaking, epic fantasy series inspired by the ancient Indian classic, The Mahabharata

In a world where demigods and demons walk among mortals, the Emperor of the vast Burnt Empire has died, leaving a turbulent realm without an emperor. Two young princes, Adri and Shvate, are in line to rule, but birthright does not guarantee inheritance: For any successor must sit upon the legendary Burning Throne and pass The Test of Fire. Imbued with dark sorceries, the throne is a crucible—one that incinerates the unworthy.

Adri and Shvate pass The Test and are declared heirs to the empire… but there is another with a claim to power, another who also survives: a girl from an outlying kingdom. When this girl, whose father is the powerful demonlord Jarsun, is denied her claim by the interim leaders, Jarsun declares war, vowing to tear the Burnt Empire apart—leaving the young princes Adri and Shvate to rule a shattered realm embroiled in rebellion and chaos….

Welcome to the Burnt Empire Saga

Continue reading A Fascinating Start to What Looks Like to Be an Intriguing Fantasy Series | ARC Review: Upon a Burning Throne (Burnt Empire Saga #1) by Ashok K. Banker

Raw, Visceral and Secretive: A Love That You Will Root For Right From The Start!|Blog Tour – Review: Written With Regret (Regret Duet #1) by Aly Martinez

WWR - BT banner.jpg

Written With Regret, the first in an all-new emotional duet from USA Today bestselling author Aly Martinez, is available now!

Continue reading Raw, Visceral and Secretive: A Love That You Will Root For Right From The Start!|Blog Tour – Review: Written With Regret (Regret Duet #1) by Aly Martinez

An Interesting Combination of Philosophy + Twisted Thriller From a Debut Author | ARC Review: Greed Lust Addiction by Ravi Dabral

The book covers the journey and encounters of an investigative journalist, thrillingly revealing mysteries of the corrupt material world, who believes in following the virtuous, righteous and spiritual path in life but is lured by a society dominated by corrupt politicians, unscrupulous greedy businessmen, puppet media, insensitive police, and even a biased judiciary. It leaves the readers wondering: Will the protagonist survive in the midst of the powerful lobbies who have scant regard for human life? Or will he be crushed like a beetle under a booted foot, as everyone predicts? Or will he be able to stand up just with the help of a handful of yogis of the Himalayan ashrams and their spiritual followers?

The book talks about Materialism Vs Spiritualism. Materialism is the mantra of the modern generation, whose motto is to ‘eat, drink and be merry’. This philosophy gives rise to ‘greed, lust and addiction’ which are vices within us. As against this, spiritualism believes in having ‘virtues, values and morals’ to live a contented, stress-free and purposeful life.

Continue reading An Interesting Combination of Philosophy + Twisted Thriller From a Debut Author | ARC Review: Greed Lust Addiction by Ravi Dabral

A Fast Paced Interesting Start to a YA Fantasy Series that *JUST* Fell Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Circle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows #1) by Evelyn Skye

A thrilling new fantasy series full of magic and betrayal—from Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of the Crown’s Game series.

Sora can move as silently as a ghost and hurl throwing stars with lethal accuracy. Her gemina, Daemon, can win any physical fight blindfolded and with an arm tied around his back. They are apprentice warriors of the Society of Taigas—marked by the gods to be trained in magic and the fighting arts to protect the kingdom of Kichona.

As their graduation approaches, Sora and Daemon look forward to proving themselves worthy of belonging in the elite group—but in a kingdom free of violence since the Blood Rift Rebellion many years ago, it’s been difficult to make their mark.

So when Sora and Daemon encounter a strange camp of mysterious soldiers while on a standard scouting mission, they decide the only thing to do to help their kingdom is to infiltrate the group. Taking this risk will change Sora’s life forever—and lead her on a mission of deception that may fool everyone she’s ever loved.

Love, spies, and adventure abound as Sora and Daemon unravel a complex web of magic and secrets that might tear them—and the entire kingdom—apart forever.

Continue reading A Fast Paced Interesting Start to a YA Fantasy Series that *JUST* Fell Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Circle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows #1) by Evelyn Skye

A Heartbreaking Search for One’s Truth | Blog Tour – Review & Giveaway: I Dream of Spiders by Elle Keating

Today we have the blog tour for Elle Keating’s I DREAM OF  SPIDERS! Check out my review + an excerpt and an awesome giveaway on the blog today and be sure to order your copy today!

Continue reading A Heartbreaking Search for One’s Truth | Blog Tour – Review & Giveaway: I Dream of Spiders by Elle Keating

An Addictive Nail Biting Thought Provoking Thriller | ARC Review: To Kill The Truth (Maggie Castello #4) by Sam Bourne

Someone is trying to destroy the evidence of history’s greatest crimes.

Academics and Holocaust survivors dead in mysterious circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Digital records and irreplaceable proofs, lost for ever.

Former White House operative Maggie Costello has sworn off politics. But when the Governor of Virginia seeks her help to stop the lethal spiral of killings, she knows that this is bigger than any political game.

As Black Lives Matter protestors clash with slavery deniers, America is on a knife-edge and time is running out. This deadly conspiracy could ignite a new Civil War – but who stands to gain most from the chaos?

Taut, authoritative and explosive, To Kill the Truth takes us to the edge of anarchy, a world without truth in which history will be rewritten by those who live to shape it.

Continue reading An Addictive Nail Biting Thought Provoking Thriller | ARC Review: To Kill The Truth (Maggie Castello #4) by Sam Bourne

A Manipulative Psychological Thriller For The Ardent Fans | ARC Review: The Flower Girls by Alice Clark – PLatts

The Flower Girls. Laurel and Primrose.

One convicted of murder, the other given a new identity.

Now, nineteen years later, another child has gone missing.

And The Flower Girls are about to hit the headlines all over again…

Continue reading A Manipulative Psychological Thriller For The Ardent Fans | ARC Review: The Flower Girls by Alice Clark – PLatts

A Perfect “Who Dunnit” Mystery for a Cozy Weekend | ARC Review: The Hunting Party by Lucey Foley

 

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Continue reading A Perfect “Who Dunnit” Mystery for a Cozy Weekend | ARC Review: The Hunting Party by Lucey Foley

Release Day Blitz: Cold And Deadly (Cold Justice: Crossfire #1) by Toni Anderson

Romantic Suspense lovers – the first book in Toni Anderson’s Cold Justice: Crossfire series is available today! Pick up your copy of COLD & DEADLY now!

Continue reading Release Day Blitz: Cold And Deadly (Cold Justice: Crossfire #1) by Toni Anderson