Release Day Blitz: Veiled by Karina Halle

veiled available now Continue reading

Advertisements

Blog Tour: Bleedovers (A Crossfades Novella) by William Todd Rose

23395413

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Bleedovers hosted by the wonderful TLC Book Tours!! Read on for my thoughts and a chance to enter an amazing giveaway as well! 

Enjoy your visit lovely bookworms 😀 

Sure to thrill readers of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz—William Todd Rose’s new dark horror novella is a tale of bloody retribution that blurs the line between the waking world and the terrors of the night.

There’s only one thing standing between humanity and the dark forces of the supernatural: the secret agency known as The Institute. The organization depends on regular guys like Chuck, a Level I Recon and Enforcement Technician who guides tormented spirits into the next life.

From an office deep underground, Chuck projects his spirit into Crossfades, monstrous realms where the souls of the dead, unable to move on due to fear or anger, devise macabre tortures for themselves and one another. He’s always been able to leave his work behind at the end of the day . . . until now.

First in dreams, then in waking nightmares, Crossfades are bleeding into the physical world. And now it’s up to Chuck—along with his partner, a woman named Control—to put a stop to it. Because there’s no telling what might come over from the other side.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Guest Post – Come Sit By Me by Thomas Hoobler

Come

Hello, lovely bookworms! Welcome to my stop of the Come Sit By Me Tour from the 3rd of August till the 14th of August! Since I have already reviewed this wonderful book – which can be found here, for this tour stop, the wonderful Thomas Hoobler has graciously agreed to write a thought provoking guest post on the topic – Do Boys Read?

I hope you all enjoy this beautiful post and do not forget to add this book to your GoodReads Shelf! Continue reading

Arc Review: Love’s Curse by Darren Gallagher

25753350

Justin is awoken by a phone call from a frantic Camille, begging him to come rescue her. She was the girl he’d always been crazy about, but just always out of his reach. Their world has been turned upside down and overrun by Zombies, and she promises him they’d finally be together if he saves her.

Blinded by his feelings and taking this as his chance to be with her, Justin risks everything and rushes off across country against the advice of his sister and his friends. When he arrives however, things don’t go as smoothly as he’d hoped.

He regrets his valiant effort to save her, and makes the decision to return home, with or without her.

Camille agrees, but the journey home doesn’t go smoothly, and when they arrive back, things get much, much worse…

Continue reading

Arc Review: The Boy Meets Girl Massacre (Annotated) by Ainslie Hogarth

25264711

Noelle takes a summer nightshift job at the infamous Boy Meets Girl Inn, even though she’s well aware of the grisly murders that happened there decades ago. That’s why she has a diary—to write down everything she experiences in case things go bump in the night. But the inexplicable freezing drafts, the migrating rotten-flesh smell, and the misplaced personal items don’t really scare her. Noelle has bigger problems: her father’s ailing health, her friend Alfred’s inappropriate crush, and the sore spot on the back of her head that keeps getting worse.

When a party commemorating the anniversary of the original killings ends in a ghoulish bloodbath, Noelle’s diary becomes the key piece of evidence for investigators. But the cryptic and often incoherent entries suggest there is more to the bizarre case than can be rationally explained…

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway: ClownFellas: Tales of the Bozo Family by Carlton Mellick lll

24703110

In a topsy-turvy world where clowns are killers and crooks, Little Bigtop is a three-ring circus of crime, and no syndicate is more dangerous than the Bozo family. From the wildly original mind of Carlton Mellick III comes the short-story collection ClownFellas—an epic mob saga where life is cheap and the gags will slay you.

For years, the hard-boiled capos of the Bozo family have run all of the funny business in Little Bigtop, from the clown brothels to the illegal comedy trade. But hard times have befallen the Bozos now that Le Mystère, the French clown Mafia, has started moving in and trying to take over the city. If that weren’t enough, they’ve got to deal with the cops, the Feds, the snitches, the carnies, the mysterious hit man Mr. Pogo, and the mutant clowns over in the Sideshow district. With the odds stacked against them, the Bozos must fight to survive . . . or die laughing.

Continue reading

Blog Tour/Review + Giveaway: Crossfades by William Todd Rose

23395412

In a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.

Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.

While Chuck’s dream of a promotion may be ordinary, his career is anything but. As a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II, at a mysterious organization known only as the Institute, Chuck spends his days rescuing souls that get trapped between this life and the next, caught in mini-hells known as crossfades.

Lydia has no dreams—only nightmares. There will be no awakening from the impossible realm of terror and pain where she’s trapped . . . unless Chuck tracks her down. But this rescue will not be easy, not for a mere Level II technician. Because, in this place, Albert is god. And he’s determined that none shall escape his wrath.

Review:

I received a digital copy of the book via TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Chuck has a job. Like every other adult in the universe, he has a job. Normal and mundane right?

BLAH!

Chuck’s job is anything but ordinary! Recruited after taking a standard psychological test – Chuck now works to send souls to where they belong form a place called Crossfades. Crossfades is the place where the souls are stuck – still not believing that they are dead and now have to move on! Everything is normal, or as normal as it can be until it isn’t!

William Todd Rose does a bloody brilliant job of weaving pleasantness into a nightmarish reality before you even realise what the heck is going on! He has made The Institute – the one Chuck for is a brilliant development by Rose and I for one can’t wait to read to more about it!

The best part is, while this book may have been classified as a dystopian novel, it is more of an eclectic collection of genres from horror to sci-fic to dystopia to even fantasy at times! It is quite brilliant!

I can’t wait to read the next book – Bleedovers which I hope will give more insight into the world Rose has created.

Rating:

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Recommendation:

If you love a mixture of Horror, Sci-fiction and stories that don’t let you sleep – read this! Just don’t make the mistake I did – or you’ll not be able to sleep for a week 😀

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Enter to win a $25.00 eGift Card to the eBook Retailer of the Winner’s Choice + an eBook copy of CROSSFADES by William Todd Rose please click on the rafflecopter image below.

rafflecopter-redirect

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

3227981

William Todd Rose writes dark, speculative fiction from his home in West Virginia. His short stories have been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines, and his work includes the novels Cry Havoc, The Dead & Dying, and The Seven Habits of Highly Infective People, and the novella Apocalyptic Organ Grinder. For more information on the author, including links to bonus content, please visit him online.

tlc-logo-resized

ARC Review: A Magic Dark and Bright (The Asylum Saga #1) by Jenny Adams Perinovic

 
She meant to help a ghost…not unleash a curse. Amelia Dupree hasn’t seen the Woman in White since the night her brother died. The ghost seems to have disappeared from the woods surrounding Asylum, Pennsylvania—that is, until Charlie Blue moves into the creepy old MacAllister House next door. Amelia can’t help liking him, even though she spent her childhood thinking his grandmother was a witch. And she definitely can’t ignore the connection between his arrival and the Woman in White’s return. Then Amelia learns that the Woman in White is a prisoner, trapped between the worlds of the living and the dead. Devastated by the idea that her brother could be suffering a similar fate, Amelia decides to do whatever it takes to help the Woman in White find peace–and Charlie agrees to help her. But when Amelia’s classmates start to drown in the Susquehanna River, one right after another, rumors swirl as people begin to connect the timing of Charlie’s arrival with the unexplained deaths. As Charlie and Amelia uncover the dark history of Asylum, they realize they may have unleashed an unspeakable evil. One they have to stop before everything they love is destroyed.

Continue reading