Tag Archives: Harper Collins India

Part Fiction Part Inspired by True Events is A Brilliant Spy Thriller That Will Leave You Slack Jawed by Its Twists and Turns | ARC Review: The New Girl (Gabriel Allon #19)by Daniel Silva

 

At an exclusive private school in Switzerland, mystery surrounds the identity of the beautiful girl who arrives each morning and leaves each afternoon in a heavily protected motorcade fit for a head of state. She is said to be the daughter of a wealthy international businessman. She is not. And when she is brutally kidnapped across the border in the Haute-Savoie region of France, Gabriel Allon, the legendary chief of Israeli intelligence, is thrust into a deadly secret war with an old enemy that will determine the future of the Middle East—and perhaps the world

Continue reading Part Fiction Part Inspired by True Events is A Brilliant Spy Thriller That Will Leave You Slack Jawed by Its Twists and Turns | ARC Review: The New Girl (Gabriel Allon #19)by Daniel Silva

An Interesting Premise + A Dramatic Plotline = A Hit or Miss Read for Fantasy Readers! | ARC Review: The Antidote by Shelley Sackier

Magic is not allowed, under any circumstances — even if it could save someone’s life. Instead, there are herbal remedies and traditional techniques that have been painstakingly recorded in lieu of using the mystical arts. Fee knows this, so she keeps her magic a secret.

Except her best friend, Xavi, is deathly ill. He’s also the crown prince. Saving him is important, not only for her, but for the entire kingdom.

Fee’s desperation to save her friend means she can barely contain the magic inside her. And after the tiniest of slips, Fee is thrust into a dark and secretive world that is as alluring as it is dangerous.

If she gives in, it could mean she can save Xavi. But it also means that those who wish to snuff out magic might just snuff her out in the process.

Continue reading An Interesting Premise + A Dramatic Plotline = A Hit or Miss Read for Fantasy Readers! | ARC Review: The Antidote by Shelley Sackier

A Fast Paced Interesting Start to a YA Fantasy Series that *JUST* Fell Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Circle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows #1) by Evelyn Skye

A thrilling new fantasy series full of magic and betrayal—from Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of the Crown’s Game series.

Sora can move as silently as a ghost and hurl throwing stars with lethal accuracy. Her gemina, Daemon, can win any physical fight blindfolded and with an arm tied around his back. They are apprentice warriors of the Society of Taigas—marked by the gods to be trained in magic and the fighting arts to protect the kingdom of Kichona.

As their graduation approaches, Sora and Daemon look forward to proving themselves worthy of belonging in the elite group—but in a kingdom free of violence since the Blood Rift Rebellion many years ago, it’s been difficult to make their mark.

So when Sora and Daemon encounter a strange camp of mysterious soldiers while on a standard scouting mission, they decide the only thing to do to help their kingdom is to infiltrate the group. Taking this risk will change Sora’s life forever—and lead her on a mission of deception that may fool everyone she’s ever loved.

Love, spies, and adventure abound as Sora and Daemon unravel a complex web of magic and secrets that might tear them—and the entire kingdom—apart forever.

Continue reading A Fast Paced Interesting Start to a YA Fantasy Series that *JUST* Fell Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Circle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows #1) by Evelyn Skye

Ingenuity + Sarcasm + A Psychopathic Murderous AI = A Roller Coaster of a Trilogy | Book Review: The Illuminae Files by Amie KAufman and Jay Kristoff

 

This is the third series I picked for my 2019 Series Challenge – #2019FWSeriesPick – I would love for you all to join me; especially if you have unread series on your shelf like I do 😀

Continue reading Ingenuity + Sarcasm + A Psychopathic Murderous AI = A Roller Coaster of a Trilogy | Book Review: The Illuminae Files by Amie KAufman and Jay Kristoff

Historical Gothic Fiction With an Extra Sprinkling of *HEA* | ARC Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

Young Fleetwood Shuttleworth, a noblewoman, is with child again. None of her previous pregnancies have borne fruit, and her husband, Richard, is anxious for an heir. Then Fleetwood discovers a hidden doctor’s letter that carries a dire prediction: she will not survive another birth. By chance she meets a midwife named Alice Grey, who promises to help her deliver a healthy baby. But Alice soon stands accused of witchcraft.

Is there more to Alice than meets the eye? Fleetwood must risk everything to prove her innocence. As the two women’s lives become intertwined, the Witch Trials of 1612 loom. Time is running out; both their lives are at stake. Only they know the truth. Only they can save each other.

Rich and compelling, set against the frenzy of the real Pendle Hill Witch Trials, this novel explores the rights of 17th-century women and raises the question: Was witch-hunting really women-hunting? Fleetwood Shuttleworth, Alice Grey and the other characters are actual historical figures. King James I was obsessed with asserting power over the lawless countryside (even woodland creatures, or “familiars,” were suspected of dark magic) by capturing “witches”—in reality mostly poor and illiterate women.

Continue reading Historical Gothic Fiction With an Extra Sprinkling of *HEA* | ARC Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

A Perfect “Who Dunnit” Mystery for a Cozy Weekend | ARC Review: The Hunting Party by Lucey Foley

 

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Continue reading A Perfect “Who Dunnit” Mystery for a Cozy Weekend | ARC Review: The Hunting Party by Lucey Foley

A Touted Feminist Collection That Falls Way Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Hijabistan by Sabyn

A young kleptomaniac infuses thrill into her suffocating life by using her abaya to steal lipsticks and flash men. An office worker feels empowered through sex, shunning her inhibitions but not her hijab … until she realizes that the real veil is drawn across her desires and not her body. A British-Asian Muslim girl finds herself drawn to the jihad in Syria only to realize the real fight is inside her. A young Pakistani bride in the West asserts her identity through the hijab in her new and unfamiliar surroundings, leading to unexpected consequences. The hijab constricts as it liberates. Not just a piece of garment, it is a worldview, an emblem of the assertion of a Muslim woman’s identity, and equally a symbol of oppression. Set in Pakistan and the UK, this unusual and provocative collection of short stories explores the lives of women crushed under the weight of the all-encompassing veil and those who feel sheltered by it.

Continue reading A Touted Feminist Collection That Falls Way Short of Expectations | ARC Review: Hijabistan by Sabyn

A Compelling, Creepy & Thrilling Duology | Monsters of Verity Duology by V. E. Schwab

This is the second series I picked for my 2019 Series Challenge – #2019FWSeriesPick – I would love for you all to join me; especially if you have unread series on your shelf like I do 😀

Continue reading A Compelling, Creepy & Thrilling Duology | Monsters of Verity Duology by V. E. Schwab

A Visceral Emotional Retelling in Sita’s Words | ARC Review: The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

The Ramayana, one of the world’s greatest epics, is also a tragic love story. In this brilliant retelling, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni places Sita at the centre of the novel: this is Sita’s version.

The Forest of Enchantments is also a very human story of some of the other women in the epic, often misunderstood and relegated to the margins: Kaikeyi, Surpanakha, Mandodari. A powerful comment on duty, betrayal, infidelity and honour, it is also about women’s struggle to retain autonomy in a world that privileges men, as Chitra transforms an ancient story into a gripping, contemporary battle of wills.

While the Ramayana resonates even today, she makes it more relevant than ever, in the underlying questions in the novel: How should women be treated by their loved ones? What are their rights in a relationship? When does a woman need to stand up and say, ‘Enough!’

Continue reading A Visceral Emotional Retelling in Sita’s Words | ARC Review: The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Book Review: LIFEL1K3 (Lifelike #1) by Jay Kristoff

It’s just another day on the Scrap: lose the last of your credits at the WarDome, dodge the gangs and religious fanatics, discover you can destroy electronics with your mind, stumble upon the deadliest robot ever built…

When Eve finds the ruins of an android boy named Ezekiel in the scrap pile she calls home, her entire world comes crashing down. With her best friend and her robotic sidekick in tow, she and Ezekiel will trek across deserts of irradiated glass, battle cyborg assassins, and scour abandoned megacities to save the ones she loves…and learn the dark secrets of her past.

Continue reading Book Review: LIFEL1K3 (Lifelike #1) by Jay Kristoff