Tag Archives: Dystopian

ARC Review: Vox by Christina Dalcher

Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial—this can’t happen here. Not in America. Not to her.

This is just the beginning.

Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end.

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice

Continue reading ARC Review: Vox by Christina Dalcher

ARC Review: Eve of Man (Eve of Man Trilogy #1) by Giovanni Fletcher & Tom Fletcher

AGAINST ALL ODDS, SHE SURVIVED.
THE FIRST GIRL BORN IN FIFTY YEARS.
THEY CALLED HER EVE . . .

All her life Eve has been kept away from the opposite sex. Kept from the truth of her past.

But at sixteen it’s time for Eve to face her destiny. Three potential males have been selected for her. The future of humanity is in her hands. She’s always accepted her fate.

Until she meets Bram.

Eve wants control over her life. She wants freedom.

But how do you choose between love and the future of the human race?

EVE OF MAN is the first in an explosive new trilogy by bestselling authors Giovanna & Tom Fletcher.

Continue reading ARC Review: Eve of Man (Eve of Man Trilogy #1) by Giovanni Fletcher & Tom Fletcher

Blog Tour – Review & Excerpt: Unknown Trilogy

From New York Times and USA Today bestseller Wendy Higgins comes a frighteningly realistic apocalyptic America brought to life and entwined with searing romantic tension that will leave you eager for more. UNDONE, the stunning conclusion in the Unknown Trilogy is now available! Grab your copies of the Unknown Trilogy today!

Continue reading Blog Tour – Review & Excerpt: Unknown Trilogy

ARC Review: No Ordinary Star (No Ordinary Star #1) by M.C. Frank

A soldier is summoned to the North Pole, days before the year changes, told to fix the great Clock for a celebration. He has no idea what to do.
A girl, hunted for the crime of being born, almost dies out on the ice. She is rescued by the last polar bear left alive.
A library waits for them both, a library built over a span of a hundred years, forgotten in the basement of an ice shack.
The world hasn’t known hunger or sickness in hundreds of years. It has also forgotten love and beauty.
The year is 2525.

Inspired by the short stories of Ray Bradbury, this futuristic novel is set in a world where Christmas -among other things- is obsolete and a Clock is what keeps the fragile balance of peace.

Written in three installments, this is the breathtaking and sensual story of how two unlikely people change the world, and each other, one book at a time.

Immerse yourself into the icy cold world of this scorching hot new novel.

Continue reading ARC Review: No Ordinary Star (No Ordinary Star #1) by M.C. Frank

Release Day Blitz: Pheonix (The Bellator Saga #4) by Cecilia London

RELEASE BANNNER.jpg

WOOOHHOOO!!! PHEONIX (The Bellator Saga #4) by Cecilia London is now LIVE!!!

I am currently reading The Bellator Saga (1-3) and TRUST ME, this is a BRILLIANT mixture of adult dystopian romance – and has something for almost every genre – which in itself is a a feat I have yet to see any author achieve! 

These are NOT standalone books – They NEED to be read in order!! 

Check them out NOW!! ❤

This blitz is hosted by The Next Step PR

Continue reading Release Day Blitz: Pheonix (The Bellator Saga #4) by Cecilia London

ARC Review: Blood, Ink & Fire by Ashley Mansour

23434550

Imagine a world without books…
In the future, books are a distant memory. The written word has been replaced by an ever-present stream of images known as Verity. In the controlling dominion of the United Vales of Fell, reading is obsolete and forbidden, and readers themselves do not—cannot—exist.
But where others see images in the stream, teenager Noelle Hartley sees words. She’s obsessed with what they mean, where they came from, and why they found her.

Noelle’s been keeping her dangerous fixation with words a secret, but on the night before her seventeenth birthday, a rare interruption in the stream leads her to a mysterious volume linked to an underworld of rebel book lovers known as the Nine of the Rising. With the help of the Risers and the beguiling boy Ledger, Noelle discovers that the words within her are precious clues to the books of the earlier time—and as a child of their bookless age, she might be the world’s last hope of bringing them back.

Blood, Ink & Fire is a gripping, evocative tale that asks, who would we be without books?

Continue reading ARC Review: Blood, Ink & Fire by Ashley Mansour

Release Day Blitz: Nacreous by Sarah Elle Emm

Welcome to the Release Day Blitz for Nacreous (Harmony Run #4) by Sarah Elle Emm hosted by the lovely b00k r3vi3w Tours
Check out the fun facts that Ms. Emm has shared about her writing process (that includes a picture of a cutie pie) and get to know the first three books as well!!
Enjoy your visit here, my lovely bookworms ❤

Continue reading Release Day Blitz: Nacreous by Sarah Elle Emm

Arc Review: Love’s Curse by Darren Gallagher

25753350

Justin is awoken by a phone call from a frantic Camille, begging him to come rescue her. She was the girl he’d always been crazy about, but just always out of his reach. Their world has been turned upside down and overrun by Zombies, and she promises him they’d finally be together if he saves her.

Blinded by his feelings and taking this as his chance to be with her, Justin risks everything and rushes off across country against the advice of his sister and his friends. When he arrives however, things don’t go as smoothly as he’d hoped.

He regrets his valiant effort to save her, and makes the decision to return home, with or without her.

Camille agrees, but the journey home doesn’t go smoothly, and when they arrive back, things get much, much worse…

Continue reading Arc Review: Love’s Curse by Darren Gallagher

Blog Tour/Review + Giveaway: Crossfades by William Todd Rose

23395412

In a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.

Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.

While Chuck’s dream of a promotion may be ordinary, his career is anything but. As a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II, at a mysterious organization known only as the Institute, Chuck spends his days rescuing souls that get trapped between this life and the next, caught in mini-hells known as crossfades.

Lydia has no dreams—only nightmares. There will be no awakening from the impossible realm of terror and pain where she’s trapped . . . unless Chuck tracks her down. But this rescue will not be easy, not for a mere Level II technician. Because, in this place, Albert is god. And he’s determined that none shall escape his wrath.

Review:

I received a digital copy of the book via TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Chuck has a job. Like every other adult in the universe, he has a job. Normal and mundane right?

BLAH!

Chuck’s job is anything but ordinary! Recruited after taking a standard psychological test – Chuck now works to send souls to where they belong form a place called Crossfades. Crossfades is the place where the souls are stuck – still not believing that they are dead and now have to move on! Everything is normal, or as normal as it can be until it isn’t!

William Todd Rose does a bloody brilliant job of weaving pleasantness into a nightmarish reality before you even realise what the heck is going on! He has made The Institute – the one Chuck for is a brilliant development by Rose and I for one can’t wait to read to more about it!

The best part is, while this book may have been classified as a dystopian novel, it is more of an eclectic collection of genres from horror to sci-fic to dystopia to even fantasy at times! It is quite brilliant!

I can’t wait to read the next book – Bleedovers which I hope will give more insight into the world Rose has created.

Rating:

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Recommendation:

If you love a mixture of Horror, Sci-fiction and stories that don’t let you sleep – read this! Just don’t make the mistake I did – or you’ll not be able to sleep for a week 😀

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Enter to win a $25.00 eGift Card to the eBook Retailer of the Winner’s Choice + an eBook copy of CROSSFADES by William Todd Rose please click on the rafflecopter image below.

rafflecopter-redirect

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

3227981

William Todd Rose writes dark, speculative fiction from his home in West Virginia. His short stories have been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines, and his work includes the novels Cry Havoc, The Dead & Dying, and The Seven Habits of Highly Infective People, and the novella Apocalyptic Organ Grinder. For more information on the author, including links to bonus content, please visit him online.

tlc-logo-resized

Review: Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

Processed with Moldiv

“In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series”

Continue reading Review: Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer