A Wonderfully Delightful Debut That Needs to be on Your *Immediate* TBR ♥️ |Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway (US Only): Like Home Like Home by Louisa Onomé

WELCOME TO THE BLOG TOUR FOR THE Wonderful Contemporary YA Debut – LIKE HOME by Louisa Onome! Check out my review of this wonderful and delightful debut about community, family, friendships and consequences of change on the blog today along with a wonderful giveaway (US Only) ❤
Hosted by Turn The Page Tours

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighborhood into turmoil.

Chinelo, or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighborhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale.

Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.

A delightful debut that’s all about community, friendship, loyalty and the consequences of change.

Not gonna lie, I was more attracted to the cover; but I am so delighted that the story itself held up to my expectations.

Told in the voice of young Nelo, it’s her world that’s described – outright, it’s easy to see that she is struggling with her friends moving away, even though it’s not clear why they had in the first few chapters!

While I would have honestly adored getting multiple POVs and I do believe it would have just enhanced the effect of the story – it still didn’t detract from the actual issue of gentrification (an issue I barely had an idea about before reading the book!)

A delightful debut thats all about community, friendship, loyalty and the consequences of change.

Not gonna lie, I was more attracted to the cover; but I am so delighted that the story itself held up to my expectations.

Told in the voice of young Nelo, it’s her world that’s described – outright, it’s easy to see that she is struggling with her friends moving away, even though it’s not clear why they had in the first few chapters!

While I would have honestly adored getting multiple POVs and I do believe it would have just enhanced the effect of the story – it still didn’t detract from the actual issue of gentrification (an issue I barely had an idea about before reading the book!)

The wonderful debut is all about the friendships, the love they have for their community and how these characters deal with change – the characters are complex, and their personalities distinct – it was delightful to see the not only interact with each other, but also their varying reactions to the societal issues that faced in the book.

Like Home, is a must read – not just because it talks about some very important societal issues but also because it’s written so well, that once you start, you just won’t stop!

The wonderful debut is all about the friendships, the love they have for their community and how these characters deal with change – the characters are complex, and their personalities distinct – it was delightful to see the not only interact with each other, but also their varying reactions to the societal issues that faced in the book.

Like Home, is a must read – not just because it talks about some very important societal issues but also because it’s written so well, that once you start, you just won’t stop!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository | Bookshop

WIN:  TWO (2) finished copies of Like Home by Louisa Onomé!
This giveaway will run from February 21st to February 28th at 11:59 PM CST and is open to US residents only. To enter, click the image below!

Louisa Onomé is a writer of books for teens. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University and is represented by Claire Friedman at InkWell Management.

A part of the Author Mentor Match round 3 cohort, she is also a writing mentor and all-around cheerleader for diverse works and writers. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, trying to bake bread, and perfecting her skincare routine. She currently resides in the Toronto area.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.