A Wonderful LGBT Heist Novel To Enjoy A Roller Coaster Read <3 |Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway (US & INTL): Spellhacker by M.K. England

WELCOME TO THE BLOG TOUR FOR SPELLHACKER BY M. K. ENGLAND – A WONDERFUL LGBTQ HEIST NOVEL TAT WILL GIVE YOU ROLLER COASTER VIBES – CHECK OUT MY REVIEW + AN AMAZING GIVEAWAY (US + INTL) ON THE BLOG TODAY ❤
HOSTED BY: THE FANTASTIC FLYING BOOK CLUB 
DON’T FORGET TO CHECK OUT THE REST OF THE WONDERFUL POSTS RIGHT HERE

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

No pressure.

To be very fair, before I even start the review, I signed up for the book, ‘cause SoC Duology pretty much pretty much set the bar for heist plots (so yes, I have very high expectations with heist books!)– and all I saw in the blurb was the heist and magic; and I was all in 😀

Spellhacker follows our protagonist – Diz/Dizzy a bisexual teen, orphaned at ayoung age due to a widespread earthquake that destroyed a majority of the city. Dizzy, with her makeshift family of friends who banded together – Remi, Ania and Jaesin – who for fun; and extra cash to set themselves up for the future; until one last job screws up everthing (like always, of course!).

Beyond this I am not gonna say anything about the plot. Trust me, you wouldn’t want to know either.

What I can tell you is that the characters are a wonderful bunch of teenagers- and the author has given us a brilliant and accurate rep for the queer community – and I don’t really need to tell you why that is important. Not only are the right pronouns used for the characters; but it is an open and honest way; and that is one of the best ways to soothe your rep starved soul.

Coming to the plot; yes, it starts off a bit slow; and it took me a while to acclimate myself to the world – because the information came to the reader in a little choppy way, mostly cause the background information came a bit late into the plotline; so I tried, but I couldn’t find myself invested in the characters; but not so much in the plot itself.

Also, the plot is predictable when it comes to the twists and turns – I am not gonna lie; I saw those shocks coming a mile away – yet it was the way the plot was written and the whole maz (magic) system and the way it was used in fighting scenes was amazingly imaginative.

All in all, Spellhacker was an interesting ride from start till the end; however it is the brilliant and on point rep for queer community that should be the reason enough to pick up this new YA novel.
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
AMAZON | B&N | BOOK DEPOSITORY | iTUNES | KOBO | GOOGLE BOOKS |

✨ FAVOURITE QUOTES ✨

“The balance of innocent to illegal is probably worse than I think it is. And the people who are buying more maz for daily life aren’t the ones who have none, they’re ones who miss the convenience and want to get around the rationing.”
(This quote had me overthinking – especially with the kind of conditions and circumstances our world is currently undergoing! Don’t you think?)
“You are no longer Awesome Strongman McDad Friend. I now pronounce you Super Edgelord McRaven Dark.”
(I absolutely adored the kind of nicknames these friends had for each other – sorta makes me wish me and my friends were this awesome 😂)
“I love you, Ania, but I think this is gonna take some on-the-fly weaving under pressure.”
Ania holds up her hands. “Hey, I know my limits. I’m the math, you’re the poetry.”

PRIZE: Win a signed hardcover of SPELLHACKER (US only) and one swag pack including a sticker, postcard, signed bookplate, and bookmark (INT)
STARTS: 15th January 2020
ENDS: 19th January 2020

M.K. England is an author and YA librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls rural Virginia home. When they’re not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the gaming table, digging in the garden, or feeding their video game addiction. They love Star Wars with a  desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in their presence. You’ll regret it.

THE DISASTERS is their debut novel. Follow them at http://www.mkengland.com.

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR | YOUTUBE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.