ARC Review

An Emotional, Soul Searing Second Chance Romance That Had Me Sobbing My Heart Out | ARC Review: Broken Halo (The Montgomerys #2) by Brynne Asher

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to BROKEN HALO by Brynne Asher – a soul searing second chance romance that had me sobbing my heart out!! Check out My Review on the blog today and don’t forget to get your hands on a copy for yourself today!

Zero three zero nine.

Four little numbers … four little words.  They might be random and insignificant to anyone else, but they meant something to us.

No, they meant everything to us.

Until they were ripped away.

That was the day our lives took a different course.  One we had no control over. One that others puppeteered and mangled into a cluster so big, it left us with emotional scars lined with resentment and venom toward each other.

All because I’m a Montgomery and he’s a Barrett.

Now, Trig’s back and he hates me with more hostility and rage than ever … and I’ve learned to do the same.  But when the world comes crashing down and the stakes couldn’t be higher, I can’t run and I can’t hide.

I need the help of the one person whose loathing for me runs deeper than blood and colder than his icy-blue stare.

I need Trig.

I need him more than I know.

Brynne Asher is slowly but surely becoming a favourite of mine – her writing always has the ability to suck me right into the plot and become oh so invested in the characters that I honestly can’t see or feel anything beyond them.

Broken Halo, is the second standalone romance in The Montgomery’s series; however it would be advised that Bad Situation may be read first, just to have an idea about the events leading to Broken Halo.

Broken Halo is a second chance romance – now this trope has always been a hit or miss for me; mostly because there is almost always a solid reason behind a couple’s break up that is touted as immaturity or even miscommunication.

“We not only lost each other, we lost everything else, too”

Yet when I picked up Broken Halo, I was immediately intrigued and invested in understanding why Ellie and Trig broke up 10 years ago and how exactly will they get back together with all the hate between them.

Now, I have to be honest, the reasons behind their break up, I immediately summarised to be the usual suspects; even through that revelation, I couldn’t help but FEEL what both Ellie and Trig were going through, their mistakes, the consequences of their decisions that they were still suffering from years later.

Yet I couldn’t help but be enchanted by the chemistry between them, the pull that no matter how much they fought against it, somethings are however, meant to be.

Ellie – oh Ellie I absolutely loved how she adored her baby boy, how she gave it her all, now and 10 years ago, how strong she had to be just to survive; no matter how inadequate she felt, the people who loved her, always knew her worth and so did se in the end.

“Hearts can’t break if they haven’t loved.”

Trig, on the other hand, was THE MAN. He survived a horrific situation, lost everything that could ever mean anything to him and yet made something of himself; a man who is proud, and independent of his past, even if that past is now a part of his present.

I loved how Ms. Asher made an entirely unique of a trope that could have easily fallen into the tried and tested yet failed formula and for this exact reason, everyone who ever reads romance should read at least one of her books, because I promise you, you won’t ever stop at one!

“Loving you has proven to be the hardest and easiest thing I’ve ever done, angel.”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .75

AMAZON PURCHASE 

Brynne Asher lives in the Midwest with her husband, three children and her perfect dog. When she isn’t creating pretend people and relationships in her head, she’s running her kids around and doing laundry. She enjoys decorating and shopping, and is always seeking the best deal. A perfect day in “Brynne World” ends in front of an outdoor fire with family, friends, s’mores, and a delicious cocktail.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.