A Perfect “Who Dunnit” Mystery for a Cozy Weekend | ARC Review: The Hunting Party by Lucey Foley

 

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Disclaimer: I was provided with a Physical copy of the book by Harper Collins India in exchange for an honest review. However, all the thoughts, feelings and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

The Hunting Party is one those twisted thrillers that, as a reader you never can expect what secret would be revealed next or what twist would turn up to screw with your theories about exactly how and why what happened; happened.

A group of college friends and their respective spouses or better halves; finally decide to get together – Samira, Miranda, Katie, Giles and Julien – have been friends since their days at Oxford and have a complicated history with each other. They still stay in touch with each other, even though they graduated years ago – this years’ annual New Year’s getaway is all Emma’s plan, Mark’s girlfriend – a late addition to the group and always feels like an outsider; so feels like this is her chance to shine on!

So Emma plans a trip to a far flung area of Scotland, in a private hunting lodge, by planning the best possible holiday they have ever had but a private time between old friends is a recipe for problems – undercurrent of resentments, secrets and betrayals dog their time in the mountains of Scotland; especially when they are snowed in due to one of the baddest snowstorm, cut off from civilizations.

Told in multiple POVs; three of the guests and two of the employees of the lodge, Heather and Doug, who have their own secrets to hide – this book had my attention right from the start, I enjoyed getting to know all the reveals, as and when it came by.

I loved the way author also has written the book in both time frames – past and present and made the journey of both colliding, not only interesting, but fun and surprising as well.
This is exactly the book for fans of Agatha Christie and lovers of “who dunnit” mysteries to spend their cozy weekends with!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .25

AMAZON INDIA | AMAZON KINDLE | AMAZON USFLIPKART

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.