ARC Review: The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty novel that is Gone Girl for teens. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart.

When Nico Morris’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, when Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

Disclaimer: I was provided with an ARC by Harper Collins India in exchange for an honest review. However, all the thoughts, feelings and opinions expressed in this review are my own. 

Ooh this was such a brilliant book – a book that had my attention right till the moment I got till the end.

This is the book that falls under the category of a book having a twist within a twist – One sister missing and One sister returned. What is the truth?

Nico’s sister went missing; and as you go through the plot, the book, you realise that Sarah, the sister who went missing wasn’t one who was liked by anyone; she was a bully and an abusive person but years later; Sarah the sister who came back, is quite the different from the one who went missing.

It turns the world that Nico has created upside down. What is the truth anymore?
We get two very different POVs – Nico and Sarah’s – while Nico’s in the present, Sarah’s starts from the beginning. The beginning of what, you ask? Well you will just have to read and find out!

I loved the writing style of the author – it is wonderfully deceptive; you believe that you will be getting one mystery when the author turns around and shocks with a totally different one from what you envisioned and you can’t do anything but hold along for the ride. And what an exhilarating ride it was!

I would definitely recommend this beauty for readers who love getting lost for a few hours into mysteries that have the ability to awe you!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

AMAZON IN | AMAZON US

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.