ARC Review: Head-Tripped: A Sexy Rock Star Romance (Ad Agency #2) by Nicole Archer

Violinist Effie Murphy moved to New York to pick up the pieces of her life. After six months, she’s still broken, not to mention flat broke. But everything changes one weird night, when she meets Elias, the lead of one of the hottest bands in the world. Except, she doesn’t know that. She also doesn’t know he’s leaving the country soon.

Elias hates life in the spotlight. So when he meets Effie at a random party, he pretends to be an unemployed deadbeat. Why not? He’ll never see her again. Except, he can’t stop thinking about the wild woman who helped him write songs that night.

*Erotic content and adult language. Not for readers under 18.

Head-Tripped is the second book in the Ad Agency Series and can be read as a standalone. However, it’s a more fluid experience to start with Book 1, since many of Road-Tripped’s characters are threaded into this book.

 

When you have an eARC of one of the anticipated novels that you really REALLY want to get lost into; it sucks that life gets in the way – and it got in the way in the most spectacular manner possible.

So, this review is a bit late and possibly colored by the emotions that I was undergoing when I read the book – which I did because I needed a distraction and I needed to be lost in ways that had me wanting nothing to do with reality.

Road Tripped, the wonderfully quirky debut of Nicole Archer (Read My Review), introduced the heroine of this follow up; Effie Murphy, a talented violinist and a child prodigy, twin sister to Callie Murphy (of Road Tripped fame!) who has been in the grip of some really dark demons, but is trying really hard to overcome the lure of those demons, and trying to live a ‘normal’ life.

Elias is a famous rock – star, but he is also currently on the outs, for he hasn’t been able to write any songs for a while. When he bumps into Effie at a party and she doesn’t recognize him, he feels as if the fates have given him a chance to be just him for a while, and the fact that the chance comes with a beautiful girl, who gets his creative juices flowing is the cream on top 😉

But they both have their demons, they both have to be open to confronting their past before they can even think of moving forward with their relationship.

I have to be honest, the place I was in when I read the book, it ended up making me HATE Effie – how can this girl, who has had so many sufferings, who has stumbled for most of her life, still have this positive vibe going on; that it just leapt out of each page? How could this girl, who hasn’t been able to have anything except her talent in life, go through life with a big freaking smile on her face? I couldn’t understand it; but more I DIDN’T WANT to understand it – for I wasn’t even able to move from my place, let alone even smile the man sleeping besides me, who had been nothing but supportive throughout.

I loved him, I still do, but at that moment, I couldn’t even love myself and here this is woman trying to tell me that there is positive side? All I need to do is just smile no matter how hard it may be? WELL F HER!

I don’t know though, but then it happened, something in the book made a smile appear on my lips – I do not remember what that was, but I do remember my husband coming to me, holding my neck and kissing me on my forehead. That’s what I remember and that’s all I remember.

Most do not understand why I read books, or why I spend some of the precious time I have on immersing myself in the fictional worlds – but here’s what I know, a book by one of the most resilient woman I have come to know, made me smile at a time when I didn’t even want to breathe.

But that’s my opinion; objectively speaking this installment in the Ad Agency Series is a bit heavier on the mind, but it h\still retains that weirdly quirky writing styles that ends up firing all of your imagination neurons in your brain, just in the quintessential way that Ms. Archer showed in her debut novel.

“If you love someone, you must love all of them. Even the dark parts – the craters of the moon.”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

 Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

