Book Review: Finding Kyle by Sawyer Bennett

finding-kyle

When you’ve lived your life as a criminal…
When you’ve done unspeakable things …
When your soul has become dark and stained…

The path to redemption begins where you least expect it.

Kyle Sommerville is in hiding and doesn’t want to be found by anyone. Certainly not by his quirky, free-spirited neighbor who’s managed to push her way past the walls he’s built around him. But Jane Cresson’s indomitable will and insatiable curiosity about her reclusive neighbor makes it impossible for Kyle to stay immersed in his dark world.

Little by little, she claws through his shell.
Day by day, she gets him to smile a little more.
Night by night, they both find pleasure they never knew existed.

When Kyle’s terrible past is exposed, Jane begins to think she’s in over her head. Can her love for this broken man finally clear his path to redemption, or will Kyle’s darkness extinguish every bit of hope she’s put into him?

My Review (1)

Give me a broody mysterious guy, a cute but definitely bubbly girl not trying but definitely getting underneath the skin of the above said man – I am always like; where the blooming heck do I sign up?

And that’s exactly what happened with Finding Kyle.

Confession Time: I have yet to read the Last Call Series and even while I was reading this book, I didn’t realise it was a companion to the series. So, you should go ahead and pick it up, especially if you love the blurb of this book just like I did.

All I knew before going into this book, was this had a trope I usually and pretty end up loving the heck out of, no matter how I read it! Give me a broody man, with a gruff exterior and then give me a woman who is open to looking beyond that façade into his soul – and BAM! I have a new favorite 😉

“Well, I know absolutely nothing about you,” I say, taking the opening that he just gave me. “Except that you were born in Maryland.”

To my immense surprise, he asks, “What do you want to know?”

“Are you married?”

“Nope.”

“Ever been married?”

“Nope.”

“Do you speak in more than one-word sentences?”

“Sometimes.”

I giggle and then ask, “Okay, serious question… how old are you?”

“Thirty-four,” he says, and then actually extends his sentence. “How old are you?”

“Twenty-six,” I tell him, pleased he’s interested in something about me personally. “I’ll be twenty-seven in November.”

“A babe,” he says gruffly.

“Not really,” I disagree with him primly. “I know things.”

For the first time, Kyle gives me a genuine smile as he turns to me and asks, “Oh, yeah? Like what?”

“Hmm,” I ponder thoughtfully, tapping my index finger against my chin. “Well, you’re a very interesting guy. You’re dark and mysterious. Reclusive yet very intriguing. I’d say you’ve got a haunted past, and I’m kind of drawn to that.”

Kyle’s eyes burn into mine. “Why would you ever be drawn to that?”

I shrug. “Because I want good things for good people, I guess.”

“You want to try to fix me?” he asks blandly.

“Maybe,” I say with a grin. “Can I borrow your tools?”

Finding Kyle is about a man, an honourable man who waded into the filth that humans voluntarily live in and do his best to clean it up; and he succeeds, but that doesn’t really make him popular with the bad guys who are now gunning for him. Hence his relocation to a new town with a new identity.

Here is the kicker though; even though Kyle Sommerville is actually a good guy, he doesn’t believe so, for the things he had to do to makes him feel unworthy of any kind of love and affection (which if it were up to me, I would show him that it was soo not true!) and it hurt my soul to see him so tortured and unable to forgive himself for actions that were not a reflection of his true nature.

Wanting to keep to himself, he does everything in his power to repel his neighbour Jane; a wholesome woman he believes he doesn’t deserve her. But when has a heroine ever listened to a man in a romance book? 😉

I don’t wait for Kyle. I turn around, practically fly off his porch, and start running back to my house. I can hear Kyle’s heavy boots hitting the earth right behind me, clearly impressed with the urgency of the matter. The minute my feet hit the dirt and gravel lane, I slow considerably and curse to myself when the rocks dig into my feet as I start to hobble across.

I’m surprised when an arm wraps around my waist and I’m lifted off my feet, which dangle just above the rocky dirt road as Kyle carries me across.

How gallant.

How very sweet.

He practically dumps me to the grass when we reach the other side.

How barbaric.”

Jane is an art teacher; she loves living in her small town, hanging out with her best friend and sometimes selling her paintings in the town fair. She is open and definitely friendly by nature, but it is to cover up a spine made of steel and a resolve that reeks of stubbornness, for there is no other way she could have gotten under our lovable yet gruff hero’s skin!

 Jane and Kyle’s interactions were so much fun to read, especially in Jane’s POV – not only are they witty, they are also pretty much heartwarming tinged with sexual tension that just doesn’t let go!

But most of all, while there is a bit of angst and drama, it isn’t overwhelming, leading this book to be quite entertaining when you just want to lose yourself in virtual reality than the real world.

Sawyer Bennett writes quite entertaining romances, in an easy and fun loving manner that just quite made sure that I ended up reading her Last Call series after being done with this one! ❤

Why? Why are you standing here letting me hold you?”

She doesn’t answer, just turns the tables quickly on me. “Why did you come track me down?”

The answer is absolutely crystal clear. “Because I love you.”

“Yes,” she agrees softly with a smile. “Because I love you.”

Cheers, Pavi

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

z

 

Leave a Reply

