Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: Sweet Dreams by Nina Lane

sd-tourbanner

Welcome to the Blog Tour For Sweet Dreams (Sugar Rush #1) by Nina Lane hosted by Inklsinger PR ❤ 

Check out my 5 STAR review for this romance that honestly sneaked up on me and a chance to win an AWESOME GIVEAWAY on the blog today ❤

Enjoy your visit lovelies ❤

SweetDreams_FrontCover

He may own a candy company, but this wealthy bachelor is no Willy Wonka.

Sugar Rush Candy Company CEO Luke Stone is a devoted businessman who doesn’t do relationships. He does short-term affairs with clearly defined rules. But when a sexy bohemian angel propositions him in a bar, Luke is tempted to want more.

Polly Lockhart is horrified when she wakes the morning after her twenty-third birthday to realize she made a fool of herself with a sinfully delicious man. She tells herself she doesn’t have time for romance anyway, as she’s fighting to keep her mother’s beloved bakery afloat and finish her culinary studies. That all changes when her class tours the famed Sugar Rush headquarters, and Polly collides with her dream man again.

As she succumbs to their hot attraction, Polly soon realizes her bakery isn’t the only thing that needs saving. Luke, driven and unyielding, will burn out unless someone convinces him to taste the sweetness of life. But can Polly remember this sugar rush is only temporary?

My Review (1)

eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

Oh. Oh. OH! This was such a sweet-sweet sugary surprise. Honestly, I went in believing that I would be getting a cheesy sweet romance – but what I got was more than just a simple romance – what I got was the amalgamation of two absolutely different characters yet two, who are confident in themselves; two people who at first sight have nothing more than their physical attraction in common but slowly lay the foundation to something deeper and infinitely scarier. I absolutely LOVE it when a book manages to not only surprise me, but also hook me right in with it’s

“Come on, Mr. Hottie, kiss me again.”

He looked faintly amused. “What did you just call me?”

“Mr. Hottie. You know, cuz you’re so damned smoking hot. And, of course, a mister.” She reached out and rubbed her hands on his chest, marveling at how freaking hard he was all over. “Wow. How often do you work out?”

“Come on.” He grasped her wrist with one hand.

“I’m taking you home.”

“Oh, yay! To your house, right? I’ll bet you have a huge bed. Does it have four posts? Feather pillows? I’ve always dreamed of getting laid on a four-poster bed with feather pillows.”

Polly Lockhart has been in a rut, ever since her mother; her best friend passed away. She has been taking care of her mother’s bakery, Wild Child and dating a man who doesn’t leave his mother’s basement. It is on 23rd birthday that her best friend persuades her to dump the guy and come out to play and play she does; propositioning a “Hottie” of a man and then promptly making a fool of herself in front of him. It gets worse when she crosses paths with him on a tour of the Sugar Rush factory and finding out that he is none other than the company’s CEO, Luke Stone.

Luke Stone on the other hand, is the controlling, cautious and absolutely not-so charming man who is a complete workaholic; doesn’t really believe that love exists nor does he believe that any female is on the up-and-up with him. The one night he takes a breather; he is propositioned by a girl smelling of peaches; though he regrets not getting her name, he doesn’t expect to see her in his office on a tour. And though, he might not believe in love, he still isn’t letting Polly go without getting his fill of her!

“I was out with a friend for my birthday,” she said. “And I was looking for some fun, yes, not that my motives are any of your business.”

“On the contrary.” He moved closer to her, his eyes hardening with a distinct sense of possessiveness as his voice lowered to a rough tone. “It became my business the instant you kissed me. And then it really became my business when you threatened to hit on another guy if I didn’t kiss you again. And then it became only my business when you begged me to fuck you.”

I adored, absolutely FLOVED Luke and Polly together – there is something quite heart-warming about two people who, on paper, do not work together but end up bringing the best in each other! On one hand, you have a bit of a free spirit Polly, trying to relax Luke and making him have “fun”, something he hasn’t really done since his childhood and never in his adult life. On other hand, you have Luke trying to help Polly out with the business end of her bakery – even without expecting anything in return.

STONE: How did the CEO feel without his peach?

POLLY: Hungry?

STONE: PIT-iful.

POLLY: I have to break up with you now.

STONE: I’d never sign off on that request.

POLLY: Are you at work?

STONE: In a board meeting.

POLLY: And you’re texting me?

STONE: Under the table.

POLLY: Omg. I’ve made it to the boardroom under the table. Maybe next time I’ll make it into your lap.

STONE: Any time you want. My lap is reserved for you.

 

LUKE: Are you a magician?

POLLY: Uh…no. Why?

LUKE: Because every time I look at you, everyone else disappears.    

LUKE: Are you a parking ticket? Because you have fine written all over you.

POLLY: Oh my god. Don’t tell me CEO Stone is really just a cheesy pick-up artist in disguise.

LUKE: Okay, I won’t tell you that.

POLLY: For the record, you don’t need pick-up lines with me.

LUKE: For the record, you had me at “Hi.”

It’s hilarious and delightful to see Luke, a man who doesn’t really have time for relationship go all possessive and protective over Polly – and even go so far to agree to her demands; even if he went against his grains.

Polly was a heroine that by the end of the book, on whom I had a full on stalkery kind of lesbian crush on – it was amazing to see how she handled Luke, even at his asshatery worst – not gonna lie; have pointers ready to deal my “Luke” the way she dealt with hers. And even though she was a little uncertain as to where her life was going; she had self-confidence with the kind of woman she actually was – and that honestly, wasn’t just hot but sexy in a way that she didn’t have to work a lot on it.

My first book by Nina Lane, and I am hooked! I devoured this book in one sitting and honestly, I cannot wait till the next one comes out – which focuses on Hannah; Polly’s globe-trotting sister and Evan Stone; the brother (with a heart condition) to Luke. Both had contentious relationships with their siblings in this part, and I really want to see how this author resolves those issues; though I have full confidence that I will enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed this first one!

“Tell me you believe in love,” she whispered.

He looked at her, his eyes flickering with an indefinable emotion.

“I believe in you,” he said.

Definitely one of my TOP READS of this year – for this book came at JUST the right time for me ❤
Cheers, Pavi

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

Amazon | Amazon IndiaiBooks | Kobo

Giveaway

Enter to win a $25 Amazon giftcard and a $25 See’s Candy giftcard by entering the rafflecopter below!

rafflecopter-redirect

About The Author (3)

New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Nina Lane writes hot, sexy romances and spicy erotica. Originally from California, she holds a PhD in Art History and an MA in Library and Information Studies, which means she loves both research and organization. She also enjoys traveling and thinks St. Petersburg, Russia is a city everyone should visit at least once. Although Nina would go back to college for another degree because she’s that much of a bookworm and a perpetual student, she now lives the happy life of a full-time writer.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads | Newsletter

z

Leave a Reply

