Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Harry Potter

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Review (1)

It’s been years since the last hurray into the Potter World ended – I am now in my 20s and honestly still a big Harry Potter geek that I was when those books were still continuing. I still scour the websites for Harry Potter Merch, still have Movie Marathons during holidays and definitely do a re-read of the whole 7 books once in 6 months or whenever I feel a book slump coming on and I am actually contemplating getting a Harry Potter tattoo soon!

Before going on, YOU HAVE TO REMEMBER, while this edition did have QUEEN ROWLING’s blessings doesn’t mean that it is going to be exactly what the Potter Heads dreamt of all these years. GO IN THIS BOOK WITHOUT EXPECTING IT TO BE A CONTINUATION AND I PROMISE YOU JUST MIGHT ENJOY IT!

A news that Harry Potter was going to the stage with a story that was actually 19 years later and we see that Harry is just another man trying to coral in the life as an adult (I get that feeling!) – he is trying really hard to connect with his son, who was sorted in Slytherin – Albus Severus but is bungling up the job quite well (ah, just like the original Harry did! Memories!).

Albus, on the other hand feels like a loser with everyone around him making it seem that he doesn’t deserve to be the son of the Great Harry Potter. The only solace he has is his best friend, Scorpius Malfoy (who literally turned out to be MORE AWESOME & ADORABLE than I had ever imagined and trust me, I had imagined a LOT!)

And when Albus gets the chance of one-upping his father (without knowing his history!0, he takes Scorpius along for the ride and end up even making all the more mess – clearly he is Harry’s son, even if he doesn’t want to believe it.

This book is written in script form – which is kind of obvious, considering that IT IS A SCRIPT for a play, but it was still an experience to actually get used to it – and I had quite a lot of fun getting back to the Wizarding World, even if it was quite a different world than what I remembered.

But most of my time really was spent fangirl-ing over Scorpius Malfoy – HE MADE THE WHOLE FREAKING EXPERIENCE ALL THE MORE BETTER. Not only was he EXACTLY like I had imagined, he was also the Draco i wish Harry had gotten to know! Seriously, I am not kidding – there could be whole alternate universe fanfiction that I really wish I had the talent to write!

As far as the plot is considered, the only thing I can tell you is that it was UTTER MADNESS! Really! All jumbled up and scary – it would have been better if I had actually seen the play rather than just read the script – even with my over active imagination!

So yes, I get that this book would have been a disappointment to Harry Potter fans and that it “felt too much like fanfiction” – but here’s the thing – IT IS ACTUALLY FANFICTION, but is Queen Rowling approved fanfiction, so I went ahead and actually enjoyed the fact that this would be the last book of Harry Potter that came from the author herself.

And I hope you do that too as well! 🙂

Cheers, Pavi

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐  (for a fanatic Harry Potter Fan!)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ (for a reader who loves everything with Harry Potter!)

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

ed96c-amazon

z

Leave a Reply

