ARC Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Moonshot

Synopsis:

Moonshot_FrontCover_Final_LoRes

Baseball isn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase … he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.

Women started dying.

And everything in my world broke apart.

My Review (1)

eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

There are certain books that stay with you – it could be because of their characters, or it could be because of the phenomenal writing or it could be because of the way the plot just smoothly moves!

But rarely, rarely do we come across books that have everything going for it – the characters, the writing, the whole she-bang. really! And Moonshot is that book for me!

This is my first Alessandra Torre book – and all I want to do is just stop – stop and bask in the beauty she ends up delivering – this is one of the MOST INTENSE, SOUL SHATTERING FORBIDDEN AND SECOND CHANCE LOVE that I have had the honor of ever reading.

I didn’t expect to understand – I didn’t even expect to be invested – but I was and Ty & Chase, their emotions, love and their PURE CONNECTION kept me at edge of the seat –  kept me flipping through the pages, because it was a physical NEED to know they found their way back together.

Before, I go any further, I have to be honest – I know squat about baseball. I am an Indian, bought up on the staple of Cricket, Football and tennis – the last two only when there wasn’t any cricket match going on. 

I have never even tried to understand baseball – so my review will NOT touch any aspect of the game. 

I stood there, lost in far left field, and watched him reach for a bat. Watched him run his hands along its length. I watched him step up to the bag and push the batting helmet hard onto his perfect head. And before he even tightened his grip, before that first swing that cracked open our future and sent the ball high over my head… I was already done for.

Ty Rollins – is the daughter to the Coach of Yankees – she has grown up around players, her life is baseball and she is more interested in playoffs rather than girlfriends.

She is the typical tomboy – a girl who is strong, combative and definitely one who uses her brains than her looks – even if everyone around her believes otherwise. She adores  and is very close with her father, Frank Rollins, but is her own person when it comes to her life.

But she is still a girl and a girl can make assumptions, rash decisions that she wouldn’t ever realize how it could effect her life.

For that smile? He could be a better man. He would be a better man. And everything would be okay. It had to.

 Chase Stern, is arguably the BEST BASEBALL PLAYER to hit the game (I wouldn’t know, but everything in the book points to it being so!) – but he is also a f*ck up.

And no, I am not being generous.

He might be a God on the field, but his decisions and attitude leaves a lot to be desired.

But when his colossal f*ck up leads to him being traded to his Dream Team – he believes everything is going exactly right for him – not that he has any reason to change his attitude or habits.

Ty has the hugest crush on Chase – not only he is good-looking (read: HOT!), he also is pretty much perfect at the game she worships.

And when he gets traded to the team she works for (rather tags along!), it’s like her greatest wish come true.

“Like what you see?”

But they meet – in a moment that changes their their whole outlook! Fate? Or Willful choice?

He couldn’t. Never again, not with anyone else. Nothing would ever, after that moment, compare. Not with her cry, not with her reaction, not with her kiss. A woman shouldn’t be created in such heartbreakingly beautiful combinations. A woman shouldn’t, in fifteen minutes, have the ability to ruin him for life.

This romance isn’t for the fast and furious readers – it’s a slow burn romance, it’s forbidden and intense at it’s core but it is oh so sweet!

Their’s is a relationship that takes time to build – but there is always the intense attraction between them that JUST FREAKING LEAPS OF THE PAGES of the book. It was a constant physical ache reading the volley of emotions both of them deluged under.

The kiss should never have happened. If my father found out, if anyone did, it would be disastrous. Together, we would only bring chaos.

Their’s was a relationship that WASN’T SUPPOSED TO BURN – but it did and the fire of their love burned everything to ground.

I adored how Chase seemed to have actually made a 180 degree turn in his behavior – but I respected the author, when she made sure that he didn’t give any simple excuses for such a huge turn – just made it into what it was.

Their start of the relationship is volatile – and what else would expect between a grown man and a teenager – it could be only qualified as chaos – so many decisions leading to so many regrets!

Twists, twists and turns that kept coming like bullets and I couldn’t do anything but bleed for them!

It’d been almost four years since he’d touched alcohol, drugs, or women. Four years since he’d last seen her smile, heard her voice. Four years of being a saint and focusing only on baseball. His reputation had soared, as had his stats, and his finances. But his sanity was still in question. Four years later, and he couldn’t even bear to stay a night in the same city as her.

4 years later – Chase and Ty are on the opposite sides of the spectrum. Both have their lives, but they aren’t exactly LIVING!

They both have regrets but life moved on for one of them and the other laid still – they kept breathing, smiling, and SURVIVING – but never did they expect to come face to face with each other! !

Their break was so heartbreaking and so final that I never really could see how, JUST HOW would they repair their broken hearts.

This wasn’t a one-time, dirty affair kind of guy. This was the man who owned my soul. This was the man who, despite the miles of separation, and the years, and the gold ring on my finger, I still loved. Fiercely loved.

This romance, second chance at it’s core, has one limit that I never thought I would ever be able to justify! (And while, I am sure you could guess the spoiler quite well, I suggest YOU GO IN THIS BOOK – absolutely BLIND! Trust me, it’s better THAT WAY!)

But somehow, somewhere along this ride, Ms. Torre made me complacengt – not in a way that I wuld actually condone their actions, but their love was so strong, so pure, that nothing and no one else in the world mattered and no matter how wrong I felt their actions were on the account of principle – I JUST COULDN’T BEGRUDGE THEM, their happiness.

Sometimes no matter what seems to be right, isn’t exactly the answer to your happiness.

I loved him too. My best friend. My partner. But whatever embers of love I felt for my husband was nothing compared to my love for HIM. That was a wildfire, burning hot and mad and out of control, eating everything in sight. It consumed my marriage and left only charred black.

A spine chilling murder mystery also takes up your attention – though for the first 50% or so is only because of the chilling news pieces before the chapters.

Sure it makes for a great background – but this isn’t a murder mystery, I wouldn’t even classify this book into Romantic suspense – what it is, is actually one of the most intense emotional rides I’ve ever had the opportunity to be on!

The first half of the book is forbidden, but it is nothing, NOTHING at all compared to the angst, the emotions that the second half invokes in you – when all you want to do is just flip through the pages like a mad woman just so you could be sure that everything just ended perfectly!

This book isn’t for the faint hearted, it is also not for the easily offended – this books is those who understand that the emotions aren’t staid, they are messy, soul shattering and absolutely unavoidable.

Certain loves can’t be fought. The harder you tried, the harder you would be knocked back, over and over again, until it beat you into submission, until your heart caved and body surrendered. Love like that didn’t know the rules of society; it didn’t care about life mistakes. It only knew what must be, and what would happen—no matter what.

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)


MOONSHOT WEBSITE CLICK LINK TO VIEW

baseball_website

Moonshot Thunderclap

baseball ball_amazonbaseball ball_amazon ukbaseball ball_amazon cabaseball ball_amazon au

baseball ball_b&nbaseball ball_itunesbaseball ball_kobo

 

✿༻ GOODREADS GIVEAWAY ༺✿*

Open to US, CA & GB

Head over to Goodreads to enter for the chance to win a 1 of 2 signed copies of Moonshot by Alessandra Torre. Giveaways end on July 8th. Sign up for your chance to win today!

ENTER HERE

***

About The Author (3)

Author PhotoAlessandra Torre is an award-winning New York Times bestselling author of thirteen novels. Her books focus on romance and suspense, all with a strong undercurrent of sexuality. Torre has been featured in such publications as Elle and Elle UK, co-hosted Dirty Sexy Funny with Jenny McCarthy, as well as guest blogged for the Huffington Post and RT Book Reviews. She is also the Bedroom Blogger for Cosmopolitan.com.

You can learn more about Alessandra on her website at www.alessandratorre.com, or you can find her on Twitter (@ReadAlessandra) or Facebook.

cooltext137834450037136

baseball_website baseball_facebookbaseball_twitterbaseball_instagrambaseball_google+baseball_goodreadsbaseball_amazonbaseball_you tube

Hit a home run by subscribing to Alessandra’s NEWSLETTER today!

baseball_newsletter

z

TNS

website goldfacebook goldtwitter goldinstagram goldPinterest goldyoutube gold

Leave a Reply

