ARC Review

ARC Review: Hartstrings (Jaded Regret #3) by L.L. Collins


Today we are celebrating the release of HARTSTRINGS by L.L. Collins. This is a contemporary romance title and the third book in the Jaded Regret series! The book is available for FREE on Kindle Unlimited!



Tanner Hart, the All-American bad boy bass guitarist of Jaded Regret, has one motto— play women’s bodies like he does the strings of his guitar— hard, in tune, and giving it his all until the show is over. The only strings he wants attached to him are the ones he plays on the stage.

He has quite the reputation, even with his own band, and he likes it that way. It keeps the truth of who he really is locked deep inside. But there’s so much more to him than anyone really knows…

Now that he’s successful, he can afford to find out what really happened to the only girl who’s ever held his heart. The only thing is…will he really want to know the truth?

When Mackenzie ‘Mac’ Shepard finds herself in a situation she’s been in too many times before, she expects to do what she’s always done— cover it up, accept the apologies, and move on. She knows trying to get out is futile. What she doesn’t expect is for the world famous Tanner Hart to burst into her life like a knight in sexy armor.

When their lives collide and hearts get involved, can Tanner keep his hartstrings from being tangled up in his past, or can he make a new kind of music… with his heart?


eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

Disclaimer: This is the third book in the Jaded Regret Series, but can read as Standalone!

WARNING: This romance deals with issues of physical and mental abuse – and has graphic details that could be a trigger for some. 

This is my first L.L. Collins romance, and I have to say I am quite enchanted enough to try out the her other romances.

As a rule, I don’t really read Rockstar romances – something to do with the kind of entitled asshoelry (Yes, I made up that word. Yes, I know how awesome I am :P), that always seems to get on my nerves – but maybe it was instinct or maybe it was just rebellion, that I requested this book to review.

And I am absolutely NOT regretting this choice.

From the first, superficial glance, Tanner seems like a typical man-whore playboy rockstar – and his actions definie him that way – but I absolutely LOVED that the author made sure that we got an insight into Tanner’s actions RIGHT FROM THE START!

His hesitancy, his insecurity and his demons were there for view from the very first page – and even if it didn’t make for a solid foundation for his actions, it gave him a solid reason and that was all I ever needed.

His actions when he met Mackenzie absolutely cemented my respect and adoration for him – irrevocably.

Mackenzie is an abused woman – there is no two ways about it – and I am so glad that the author gave a realistic portrayal of her situation – the kind of mental abuse and the effect of that abuse on the victim isn’t overshadowed – in fact, my respect of Mackenzie grew twofold when I got to know the kind of mental block she had to actually get through!

Not only that though, the author made sure we saw a gradual laying of foundation between Tanner and Mackenzie – a foundation that was laid with friendship, trust and loyalty – even going as far as giving each other the strength to face their demons.

I adored the way the author wrote the characters and their circumstances – giving them and their issues the respect they deserved.

Definitely an author I will checking more of in the future 🙂

My Rating (1)

 ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

84c16-amazon amazon uk amazon ca amazon au84c16-amazon

(Get it for FREE from Kindle Unlimited)



Other Books


Sentenced (Jaded Regret #1)

Available Now
FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA



Snared (Jaded Regret #2)

Available Now
FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA



About The Author (3)

Edit 6 soft

L.L. Collins loves spending her days in the Florida sun with her husband and two boys. LL has been writing since she was old enough to write. Always a story in her head, she finally decided to let the characters out made her lifelong dream of becoming an author come true in the self-publishing world. She’s the author of the Living Again Series and the Twisted Series, plus standalones, Back to the Drawing Board, SENTENCED, and Snared: A Jaded Regret Novel. Visit LL on her website, and on all social media. Look for more of her emotionally charged novels soon!



84faf-website 481e5-facebook 868e4-twitter ed575-newsletter goodreads 84c16-amazon 1a806-instagram


InkSlinger Blogger Final

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.