Blog Tour – Review: Dominance Never Dies (Masters and Mercenaries #11) by Lexi Blake

dominance

Welcome to the Blog Tour for Dominance Never Dies, the latest addition to the Masters and Mercenaries Series (and a LONG awaited one!) by Lexi Blake hosted by the wonderful Inkslinger PR!

Check out my review (read: full on gushing!) for this new favorite, and a little sneak peak to get your interested ❤

Don’t forget to let me know if you enjoyed this book as much as I did.

A loss he can’t forget

Since losing his twin brother, Theo, in the line of duty, Case Taggart has felt dead inside. The former Navy SEAL has dedicated himself to his family and their business but he can’t help but feel stuck as he watches everyone else move on with their lives. Only meeting the beautiful Mia brings Case out of his misery, until he discovered she was just a reporter looking for a story. Betrayed, he turned his back on her and never looked back.

An attraction she can’t deny

Mia Danvers can’t get Case Taggart out of her head. Though they hadn’t been lovers, she’d felt more for him than for any man she’d ever met. Growing up in the shadow of her over-protective, older brothers, she felt free when she was with Case and she longs to feel that way again. She knows that if she can find any trace of Theo Taggart, Case will be forced to let her back into his life. Months of searching have finally paid off and she knows this is her second chance.

A desperate search

Case and Mia follow the clues they hope will lead them to Theo and the villainous Hope McDonald, but the search becomes increasingly dangerous. From Dallas to South America and beyond, dark forces work against them and threaten their lives. With each step forward, Case and Mia are pulled closer together and forced to confront their mutual attraction. But when the truth about Theo is revealed, Case may have to make a choice between his brother and the only woman he’s ever loved.

My Review (1)

WARNING: This book has continuing story ARC from the previous books and honestly, wouldn’t be enjoyable without reading the rest of the series of Masters and Mercenaries 🙂

Okay, this MIGHT NOT be the book I have been waiting for in this series, BUT this DEFINITELY is one of my FAVORITES in this series.

WHY? I AM SO GLAD THAT YOU ASKED 😀

This is the story of Case Taggart – one half of twins – and the youngest Taggart Brothers. He has been adrift ever since the events of Master No, where everything imploded – and I had my heart broken.

Now, more than ever, the stakes are higher than ever – and they face an enemy who is not only intelligent, but also a FREAKING PSYCHOPATH! *sign me up!*

“You can’t expect me to hide when people I care about are in danger.”

“You barely know Hutch and Michael. You met Fain about ten hours ago.”

She sniffled a little, obviously emotional. “All right. You can’t expect me to hide when people you care about are in danger.”

Case Taggart recently just found his half-brothers – for most of his life it has just been him and his twin, Theo *sobs* and he is having trouble adjusting to the fact that he has TWO older brothers – both the Alpha kind, and both of whom have accepted him and Theo *sobs again* unreservedly!

Case might have had problems relinquishing control – or even accepting their love, doesn’t mean that he isn’t holding himself back from their acceptance. Case is also the one in the background – yes he is an Alpha Male, yes he is confident, but having a charismatic brother makes sure that he remains the “strong, silent type” in the background.

Mia Denvers – we met her in From Sanctum with Love, when she went undercover to try and find a serial killer in Sanctum – yup, not really her best idea, especially considering that she was going up against Ian Taggart *dreamy eyes*

Mia, though had an instant connection with Case and vice-versa, but their initial interactions were fraught with mis-conceptions and at the end of From Sanctum with Love, we see them both at the wrong end of their relationship.

But in this installment, Lexi made sure to bare their relationship and she does an absolute FANTABULOUS JOB ❤

“I’ve loved you since the moment you walked in the room and my world shifted because I’d finally found a man I didn’t have to hold back with. I want everything. I want your passion and your love, and I definitely want your dominance.”

This book gives a whole inside look to what makes both Case and Mia tick – Case is the typical Alpha, but has serious issues about his own worth – considering the financial disparity between Mia and Case, not to mention the whole lot of mis-communication between Case and Mia.

Here’s the issue – Case is more of an “thinking my assumptions are true” without even taking the time to actually find out whether his assumptions are even based in reality – in other words, he is THE TYPICAL MALE.

But honestly, I didn’t really mind, you know? His character flaws are what made him real for me, but mostly because LEXI writes in a such an amazing manner that it didn’t even get on my nerves! How awesome was that?? 😀

Mia on the other hand, knows that she made a mistake at the start of their relationship, but honestly expected Case to understand, even though he was being an ass – but even through everything that Case throws at her – she never wavers, BUT DO NOT FOR A MOMENT THINK THAT SHE WAS WEAK – in fact, she is one of the strongest female characters that Lexi has written – and that is saying something ’cause every heroine was freaking ah-mazing!!

“What’s your safe word?”

Her lips curled up. “Case. It’s always Case, but for these purposes it’s coffee. I love you.”

Case and Mia’s relationship is fraught with tension – their mission, Case’s mis-communication and their pride – but I am so glad that they went through their tribulations, majorly ’cause they ended up KNOWING exactly how and what they need to work to be together *cough* Case *cough*

And as usual, Lexi does her best to have her reader sitting at the edge of her seat, ’cause the plot is in this one, is UN-FREAKING-BELIEVABLE! I am serious, peeps! I think this is one of Lexi’s best works till date and that’s saying something ’cause let’s face it – I ADORE HER BOOKS!! 

I am trying SO HARD not to give away any spoilers, but that last scene? I NEED THEO & ERIN’s BOOK, LIKE YESTERDAY!!! 

After so much heartbreak, and I know, that there is more to be had before peace can be found, I NEED to know that everything will be okay for my babies!

“I get to worry about him. I get to think about him. I get to hope for him. I get to be anxious about whether or not he’ll still love me when he comes home. Earlier tonight I thought about how my boobs aren’t what they used to be and I’ve got stretch marks. Stupid things. Inconsequential things. And I get to worry about them because he’s alive. I know he’s going through hell and I’m going to ask him to go through more, to take all the pain they give him, anything he has to so he can come home and be with me and meet his son. God, Case, I fought him so hard because I thought I wasn’t good enough for him.”

Jeez, take my heart now Lexi, I didn’t need it anyways!

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

AMAZON 4d9d7-barnes2band2bnoble smashwords 5b09b-itunes kobo

 

Excerpt

“Are you ever coming back to Sanctum?”

Her eyes flared briefly at the mention of Sanctum, but then she shut down again. “I didn’t think I could.”

Ah, yes, she was still invested in the lifestyle. “Ian didn’t revoke your membership. I asked him not to. Kori and Sarah made a plea for you. Actually, they made him cookies. My brother can be bribed.”

“Somehow I can’t see Ian Taggart being happy with me in his club. I lied to him, too.”

“You would be surprised at how reasonable Ian can be when he wants to. You should come back.” Another thought hit him. A nasty one. “Unless you joined a club in Austin.”

“No, Case. I haven’t been out trolling for strange Doms,” she said with a sigh. “I’ve been working with my brothers. They have their own insane plans, you know.”

He knew they were investigating a couple of people. Adam and Alex had been working on it. Case had stayed away. He wasn’t sure why the Lawless brothers wanted to take down StratCast Industries or why they seemed to have a hard-on for Patricia Cain, who wrote cookbooks and shit. If they wanted to take down the ice queen, who had a whole network dedicated to her telling the rest of America how shitty their taste was in everything from food to throw pillows, more power to them.

“Well, you’re welcome to come back. I know Kori and Sarah miss you. Erin’s talked about you, too. She likes any woman who’ll threaten to shoot her. Once she hears how you dealt with my rudeness, she’ll want to be your best friend.” His sister-in-law understood the need for a violent reminder every now and then. “You should see your friends. You know, I never asked you about her. About the friend you lost.”

It had been the whole reason for her lie and he’d never asked her about it. They’d been far too busy bickering over inconsequential things or ignoring each other.

“Her name was Carrie. We were roommates in college. She was very excited to be working on her first set.” Mia looked wistful, her eyes misting. “She was my first friend in college. We kind of clung together. She was from a small town and I, well, I had an odd upbringing. We kind of clicked. We roomed together until she moved to Vancouver for the show. I miss her.”

“I’m sorry, darlin’. I really am.”

She gave him a wan smile. “You know what it means to miss someone. I’m sorry about everything, Case. I really thought I was doing the right thing. I didn’t mean to hurt you.”

He moved in, taking the opportunity she was giving him. They should have done this a long time ago. “And I’m sorry I made you think I didn’t want you. I did. Walking away from you every night was hard as hell. I still want you, Mia.”

She looked up at him. “I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

“Tell me why you looked for Theo.” He should be asking her how she’d found Theo. He knew that, but he couldn’t do it. They would be together for days. He could find that out later. Right now, he needed to find out if she wanted him, too.

“You know why.”

He did. It was the same reason he hadn’t played with a single sub since the day he’d met her. No play. No sex. No anything because no one was Mia and it seemed like she was the only woman in the damn world who could do it for him. “Because we have chemistry. Because nothing ever felt like kissing me. No sex. No intimacy. None of it ever worked the way it did with me.”

“God, you’re an arrogant man.”

He really wasn’t. It was all a front. “I’m not being arrogant. I know how you feel because I felt it, too. Why the hell do you think I lied about having a girlfriend? I haven’t touched anyone since the day I met you.”

Her eyes flared, her mouth dropping a bit. It was good to know he could shock her. “What are you trying to say, Case?”

He finally did what came naturally. He touched her, sliding his palm up her neck to cup her cheek. That was what he’d been missing. Connection. Warmth. “I think we’re going to be together for a few days. I know I’m tired of not knowing.”

He wanted to know what it felt like to cover her body with his, to have her spread and waiting and offering herself to him. To know how it felt to slide inside all that warmth. To be surrounded with her.

It wouldn’t last. It would only be for a few days, but for those days he would know what it meant to take care of her.

About The Author (3)

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

z

-zInkSlinger Blogger

 

One thought on “Blog Tour – Review: Dominance Never Dies (Masters and Mercenaries #11) by Lexi Blake

Leave a Reply

