Book Review: The Randy Romance Novelist by Meghan Quinn

Randy

It finally happened, I lost my virginity. Cue applause and cheers.

For a while life was all rainbows and kittens prancing in a sky full of cotton candy clouds…that was until the demands of the real world set in.

My best friend is getting married and she asked me to be her maid of honor. She’s not worried about flowers, or the dress, or the food at the venue. No, she’s worried about the bachelorette party, what kind of penis crown she will wear, and the nipple size of the stripper who will be attending.

I’m in way over my head trying to balance life with a boyfriend, planning a penis party, and writing my romance novel. Something is bound to give.

This is my life after my happily ever after…

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: This is the sequel to The Virgin Romance Novelist and should be read in order. Seriously. 

I remember my feelings when I read The Virgin Romance Novelist  – hilarious, over the top and absolutely brillieant and when I found out that that I am going to be getting MORE of Henry and Rosie? It ended up with a happy dance at night when everybody was sleeping – and when you are as clumsy as I am – well you can certainly imagine the result 😀

BUT did I care? A BIG FAT NOPE! Because I was getting me some more of Henry and Rosie! 😛

“Life after the big V was handed over wasn’t what I expected it to be. I’d watched several movies and I’d read thousands of books that faded into black after the big magical make-up kiss; none of them prepared me for what I was going through now.”
 Here’s the thing – Henry and Rosie has their HEA at the end of The Virgin Romance Novelist (a bit cheesy, but I could forgive for it was HENRY!) – but I have to admit I was a little curious about what EXACTLY happened after the HEA – not because I had doubts of their suitability – but because with the charm of Henry and the literal awkwardness of Rosie, I had a feeling that it was not only going to be a bumpy ride, it will also be a hilarious one!
And fortunately, Ms. Quinn  never disappointed 😛
“You know I like to try positions from my books, though, so sit still while I grab my Kindle so I can make sure I’m doing this right.”
“Because that’s sexy.”
 See, here’s another thing – as a reader, it’s quite easy to relate to Rosie – trust me – she is a romance reader personified and such an easy character to like, really. I loved her in The Virgin Romance Novelist – but I ADORED her in this sequel.
Not only is she a bit more realistic, but that reality is now mixed with a sense of humor that you just can’t deny and makes you realise why the playboy Henry would fall hard and fast for her!
“No one offered you discounts for being in love or finding your perfect soulmate. There was no spontaneous combustion of brilliant fireworks following me around every time I thought of Henry.”
 Coming to Henry – OH MY GOD!
(Literally have no words for this MAN!)
It’s like Meghan took every characteristic I would have wanted in a book boyfriend.
He is absolutely PERFECT – and no, I am NOT exaggerating.
This guy was perfect as the HOT BEST FRIEND in The Virgin Romance Novelist but he is THE PERFECT BOYFRIEND in this hilarious sequel.
I AM NOT KIDDING, peeps – Henry takes the freaking the cake when it comes to the perfect book boyfriend – he is thoughtful, loyal, hilariously endearing and not to mention adoring of every weird and quirky that makes up the soul of who Rosie is.
“Love, any time I’m with you, I take it seriously. Do you know why?”
He was trying to sweet talk me, and I let him.
I played with the tassels on my rug, trying to avoid eye contact. “Because you like to fornicate?”
“No,” he laughed. “Because I’ve spent so much time waiting for the moment where I could finally call you mine that now, I make sure to cherish every fucking moment I have with you. I never want to be apart from you again.”
AND THE BEST FREAKING PART? 
WE GET HENRY’S POV in this sequel – I am not kidding, I might have squealed, okay screamed when I realised that Ms. Quinn was giving me exactly WHAT I had missed in the first book – a look at the emotions and thoughts behind Henry’s actions – actions that even second hand, endeared him to me! Not going to lie, lovelies, if Rosie ever let go of Henry, I am first in line to snatch him right up!
“How could I not love this woman with everything in me when she looked up at me as if I were her knight in shining armor? As if I were her prince charming? The one man who could fulfill her every fantasy? Dare I say it . . . her book boyfriend?”
This book is exactly what I DIDN’T know I needed for Henry and Rosie – and while it has exactly those moments of hilarity, awkwardness and weirdness that makes it a quintessential Meghan Quinn novel – but it is also realistic in a way that I hadn’t found The Virgin Romance Novelist to be, even though I adored it.
It had everything a real life romance would – insecurities, jealousies and a little bit of miscommunication before everything sorts itself out – because both the humans in the relationship WANT to sort it out!
Yes, this sequel is also a bit cheesy, but I could take a whole lot of cheesy when I KNOW that the love is pure and soulful.
Perfect ending to Rosie and Henry – and I especially loved the bit in the epilogue where Ms. Quinn shows how hilarious it is to be narcissistic sometimes – want to know what exactly WHAT I am talking about?
GO READ THE BOOK!
“This was the man I would be spending the rest of my life with, the man who would hold my hand during the good reviews and the bad, the man who would help welcome our baby girl into the world. He would forever go down in history as the best book boyfriend, ever. No questions.”

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

98384-amazon

 

z

 

Leave a Reply

