Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: Grin and Beard It (Winston Brothers #2) by Penny Reid

Grin&BeardIt_Tour

YAY!! IT’S THAT TIME OF THE YEAR AGAIN!! 

PENNY REID TIME!! 

Since you already know how much I adore this lady’s weird quirky writing, I ain’t gonna say much but just to let you know that she delivers another gem – not just in the plot line, but also with the characters as well! 

So check out this Blog Tour Hosted by the wonderful Indie Sage PR – that brings you not only a little sneak peak but also an awesome sauce giveaway!! 
Don’t forget to check it out!! ❤

Enjoy lovelies 😀

Grin&BeardItCover

Sienna Diaz is everyone’s favorite “fat” funny lady. The movie studio executives can’t explain it, but her films are out-grossing all the fit and trim headliners and Hollywood’s most beautiful elite. The simple truth is, everyone loves plus-sized Sienna.

But she has a problem, she can’t read maps and her sense of direction is almost as bad as her comedic timing is stellar. Therefore, when Sienna’s latest starring role takes her to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park she finds herself continually lost while trying to navigate the backroads of Green Valley, Tennessee. Much to her consternation, Sienna’s most frequent savior is a ridiculously handsome, charming, and cheeky Park Ranger by the name of Jethro Winston.

Sienna is accustomed to high levels of man-handsome, so it’s not Jethro’s chiseled features or his perfect physique that make Sienna stutter. It’s his southern charm. And gentlemanly manners. And habit of looking at her too long and too often.

Sienna has successfully navigated the labyrinth of Hollywood heartthrobs. But can she traverse the tenuous trails of Tennessee without losing her head? Or worse, her heart?

Grin and Beard It

eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

Disclaimer: This is the second book in the Winston Brothers Series but can read as a standalone. 

By now, I have realized that even if Penny Reid wrote a simple grocery list, I would end up finding some amazingly funny and charming about tit – and I honestly do not mean that in a creepy way.

Time and again, she has proved herself that no matter how weird or different her characters could be she will always, and I DO MEAN, ALWAYS find way to make them endearing to her readers.

Winston Brothers are a handful and not just because they are many, but because they are honestly some of the best characters I have had the pleasure of reading about. Also, the fact that they are bearded HOT guys works in their favor too 😛

Their story starts with Duane in Truth or Beard (though they were introduced in Beauty and The Mustache) – and Cletus absolutely became my favorite. His dispassionate handling of puns and straight faced humor has probably been some of the best I have ever seen 😉

And I was hoping that this book would be his HEA – BUT again, I should have NEVER doubted our OVER LORD! Really.

“And you’ve got such a beautiful voice. Seems a shame to waste it on Ranger when you could be saying Jethro instead.”

 “Jethro, I hope you don’t mind my saying so—”

“Say whatever you’d like, Sarah,” his voice was a rumble, “just as long as you keep using my name.”

Jethro Winston is the oldest of the Winston Clan – and apparently the fuck up of the group – he made so many bad choices in his adolescence – that now he does his best to walk the straight and narrow path! He works as the Park Ranger – and a workaholic. He doesn’t date and doesn’t have hook-ups (like for 5 years!!). All he wants to do is make up to his family for all the shit he put them through – and for the fact that he wasn’t there to protect them from their father.

“But do you really want to saddle yourself with a directionally challenged, prematurely love-declaring weirdo for the next twelve weeks?”

Sienna Diaz is the big shot comedian and actor in Hollywood – and she is also considered “fat” by their standards (douches!). She uses humor to challenge herself, especially when she is nervous or excited. But she is getting jaded with the whole Hollywood lifestyle, but doesn’t really understand why or what exactly does she need!

Neither Sienna nor Jethro are looking for anything serious when they stumble upon each other, but how will they work out the differences in their lives?

“There are worse places you could get lost.”

“Too true. Like Russia. I don’t think I’d like to be lost in Russia. Putin might think I’m a tiger and try to ride me around a mountain.”

“Or North Korea. That guy might mistake you for a doughnut.”

I wrinkled my nose at him. “You think I look like a doughnut?”

“No, but I do find myself wondering what you’d taste like.”

THIS BOOK. THESE CHARACTERS!!! 

The first time I read  through the book – I was speechless. This is the sweetest and the most charming romance I have ever read and I have read A LOT of them!

Jethro is the epitome of a southern gentlemen – sweet and charming – the way he flirts listerally warms you up from the inside and I am not kidding – I was blushing through every single conversation that Jethero and Sienna had with each other and this was just when I was reading them. I am sure I would have been a puddle of goo if I had a conversation with him in reality. HE WAS THAT GOOD.

Sienna, on the other hand, is the little joker. She jokes, but she doesn’t use humor as a shield or even a defense mechanism. SHE IS JUST FUNNY. Seriously, if I ever was to turn gay, I would totally turn gay for Sienna.

And now you can absolutely imagine how AWESTRUCK I was in face of their charm and humor TOGETHER!! UUUGGGHHH!!!

(Don’t believe me? Check out this conversation below!)

“I brought wine, and you have nice feet.”

He blinked, the dazed quality of his gaze dissipating, and a soft smile spread over his features. “That was very kind of you.”

“The wine or complimenting your feet?”

“Both. I’ve never thought much about feet, not when there’re so many other places I could focus my energy.”

He held my eyes captive; his soft smile grew playful, causing a spreading heat to radiate outward from my heart to my limbs. Ah, there it is. I’d missed this smile. I missed how it made me feel. It was my favorite of his smiles. And that’s when I realized I’d been spending a portion of my time cataloging his smiles.

Wanting to capture and sustain the moment, I teased, “Really? Where? And be specific. Diagrams are also enormously helpful.”

“Why draw what I can demonstrate?”

“On yourself? Or do you require a volunteer?”

Do you see what I am talking about NOW?

But to be honest, this romance won’t be for everybody. For we want to read “something different” every time we pick up a new book to read.

But here’s the thing that I doubt many readers would realise – THIS IS SOMETHING DIFFERENT! 

There is no miscommunication, no irrational jealousy, no stupid decisions that make you want to smack some sense into the characters and most of all, there is no extra angst that could have been avoided by pure simple adult conversations.

In short, this is an ADULT ROMANCE – romance that could happen to you or me, because we do not act like insecure little idiots, or if we do, WE TALK IT OUT (at least me and my guy do!).

So yes, this book might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but who really cares, Penny? ‘Cause you and I both know that it’s their loss that they are missing on the awesomeness of Sienna and Jethro.

BUT – even though I adore Jethro, Cletus still has my heart (Sorry, Jethro!) – I tried so hard to give others a chance – not kidding (BTW, what’s up with Billy and Claire?) – but when it comes to my heart, the heart wants what the heart wants, even though Sienna totally played Cletus at his game. He is still my Numero Uno Winston Brother *hearts in the eyes*

(And you might be wondering why it is so, check out the tidbit below!)

“If you come next Wednesday, I’ll let you try my sausage.”

I gathered a breath for patience and squeezed Sienna’s waist.

“Here we go,” Drew said as he swapped a knowing look with my sister. Meanwhile Beau rolled his eyes and released a disgusted snort.

 “Not this again.”

“Cletus’s famous sausage is famous,” Jess added helpfully, her eyebrows bouncing. She was already giggling.

Not missing a beat, Sienna asked, “How do you make it? Do you bake it?”

 “No way. The heat isn’t right. In order for the sausage to mature, it needs the right type and application of heat. It needs heat on all sides, and wet heat is best.”

 “You are the worst,” Billy said, though his mouth hitched on one side.

“This joke never gets old.” Jess was now laughing so hard she’d gripped her stomach, tears leaked from her eyes.

“It does when you have to hear it every month for ten years,” Duane complained, but couldn’t quite manage a scowl.

“My sausage is no joke.” Cletus frowned, wagging his finger through the air like we were all juveniles.

 “So you grill it,” Sienna supplied, moving the conversation back on track. “That’s right.”

“Good.” She nodded once, sounding thoughtful. “In that case, I insist you taste my thighs and breasts.”

 These words, so calmly and earnestly spoken, rendered us all speechless. Even Cletus.

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

AMAZON 4d9d7-barnes2band2bnoble smashwords 5b09b-itunes kobo

Giveaway

THIS IS SUCH AN AWESOME GIVEAWAY!! 

I ALREADY ENTERED! WHAT’S STOPPING YOU?

13247860_1019907561432300_5164616147440095468_o

About The Author (3)

Penny Reid is the USA Today Best Selling Author of the Winston Brothers and Knitting in the City series. When she’s not immersed in penning smart romances, Penny works in the biotech industry as a researcher. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

z

IndieSageBlogger

One thought on “Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: Grin and Beard It (Winston Brothers #2) by Penny Reid

Leave a Reply

