ARC Review: The Heart ( The Reluctant Romantics #2) by Kate Stewart

28094314

Jack

For the last ten years, I’ve roamed the globe, captivated by the world around me. I’ve seen the seven wonders and admired sunsets from every continent. I’d lived and loved and that was enough for me. It would have to be.

I was content, satisfied with my collection of experiences . . . until a phone call led me down a road less traveled.

If I’d known my fascination would pique and be forever quenched only a few hundred miles from where my curiosity had been born, I may have never set sail.

Rose

Stripped of the future I’d planned with the love of my life, my family and my career were now all that mattered. I’d lived and loved and that was enough. It would have to be.

I struggled to move forward, to discard the part of me that held out hope for my obliterated heart. But I was bred a romantic, so it was easier said than done.

The chances of being struck by lightning are 1 in 960,000.

The odds of being struck twice are 1 in 9 million.

I risked those odds every minute, often cursing the dark sky, praying for static and a rumble of thunder, but it never came.

No, that second bolt hit me on a clear day.

The Heart can be read as a stand alone but it is HIGHLY recommended you read the first two books in the series first.
The Reluctant Romantics Series
The Fall
The Mind 1.5
The Heart
Books that compliment the series (Room 212, Never Me.)

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Another disclaimer: While this is a standalone romance, it is suggested that you The Fall before picking up this. But you should DEFINITELY read The Mind before even thinking about picking this one up – because there will be spoilers in this review.

We met Rose in The Fall – the younger sister of the then heroine Dallas – but we also met Grant, *the wonderful adorable man* the love of her life, her fiance and her intended but their love story ended in a tragedy – a tragedy that over took Rose’s life and she has not really lived since.
But Ms. Stewart, did one better, she went ahead and gave us the sweetest, most heart-warming love that I have ever read about in The Mind and she took it all away – yes, I know, that this was what I was going to end up with,  I still went ahead and had my heart broken.
And I didn’t know how else would I have been able survive if I didn’t know that I already had The Heart in my kindle.
I belonged to her. And her heart belonged to another.
Rose has been living half a life ever since she lost Grant – oh, she has been breathing, eating and even making a success of her life – but is she living? A BIG FAT NOPE.
Rose has been stuck in her life, and I have been stuck with her – she broke my heart, no, she blew it to smithereens and honestly, I actually HATED her for what she was doing to me.
Was that rational? No. But did I care? Again, no.
The only time I saw a bit of life in her was when she was with Jack.
Jack is now my new favorite fictional character. He is THE BOMB! He has been bitten by the wanderlust – and for the last 10 years of his life has gone ahead and traveled the whole freaking world. But somehow, somehow that wanderlust was assuaged when he first laid eyes on Rose and it was fan-freaking-tastically beautiful!!
A need I’d never known had now become my new obsession. I wanted a new kind of home. I wanted to belong, but I wanted to belong to her. She was that home, she had the heart I needed, and I wanted in.
Rose is confused in this book – in a way that I could TOTALLY UNDERSTAND, but even then I wanted to shake some sense into her. I got that feeling of being struck by a lightening and when I never believed it could happen to me ONCE, how could Rose even think to accept that it could happen to her TWICE!
She took my breath away, you know? She had something so tragically disastrous happen to her and still when she was able, she understood very well the good fortune of being struck twice.
It’s easy to like Rose – she is infinitely charming, but it is absolutely smooth to admire her even – her feelings, her broken feelings are literally shards of glass embedding under your skin and I just don’t know how she even survived that heartache.
Jack is a man who doesn’t know what he is looking for, but knows that something changed when he came across Rose. He is literally my favorite character right now – he embodies patience, patience that Rose definitely wanted but also passion that Rose desperately needed.
I don’t know how but Jack did it – Jack made it okay to love him and Grant at the same time – not just for Rose, but for me as well and that is a gift that I am never going to forget.
“I want them to know you.”
“What the hell for?”
Jack stopped in the middle of the room and turned back to me in all seriousness. I took in his blond halo, beautiful features, and stellar body, and my heart sighed as the flutter in my belly extended to my chest.
“Because you own me.”

This is a different kind of second chance romance – this love, both loves teach us that no matter what happens today, tomorrow or in the near future, you love with everything in you and you NEVER EVER regret that love. No matter what the consequences.

Thank you, Kate. For Grant and Jack, and for the tightest hug I gave to MY love for being both Jack and Grant in my life.

My Rating (1)

⭐ star: ⭐ star: .5

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

98384-amazon

z

One thought on “ARC Review: The Heart ( The Reluctant Romantics #2) by Kate Stewart

Leave a Reply

