Blog Tour – Review and Giveaway: The Player and The Pixie by LH Cosway

ThePlayerPixie_Tour

Welcome to the Blog Tour for The Player and The Pixie by Penny Reid & L.H. Cosway hosted by the wonderful Indie Sage PR ❤ 

*I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FORWARD TO SHARING THIS BOOK WITH YOU**

Check out  my thoughts on this book that has already become my favorite of 2016 and a chance to enter to win an amazing giveaway!! ❤

Let me know if you have any recommendations of similar books for me 😀 

My TBR is dangerously going below 1000s of books 😛

PATP

How can someone so smokin’ hot be so bad in bed? I mean, Sean Cassidy is absolute rubbish. RUBBISH. He is the epitome of walking, talking false advertising and I want a refund! Plus he’s an arsehole. So… what is wrong with me that I can’t stop thinking about him?

The Pixie and the Player is a full-length, romantic comedy novel, can be read as a standalone, and is the second book in the Rugby Series.

THE PIXIE
Lucy Fitzpatrick doesn’t like rugby.

As the little sister of Ireland’s most infamous rugby player, Lucy can’t seem to escape the championship-sized shadow cast by her big brother, or her mother’s frequent attempts to micromanage her future. Her rainbow hair is as free-spirited as her quest for inner peace, yet overbearing expectations keep bringing her down. And when she’s down, her compulsive little problem lands her in seriously big trouble.

THE PLAYER
Sean Cassidy is a cold-hearted brute… or so he’s been told. Frequently. By everyone.

His blonde locks, baby blues, and rock hard bod make ladies the world over drool with desire. As the rugby world’s second most infamous player, he should be basking in his success. But Sean has never been content settling for second place, and his frequent confrontations with Lucy’s big brother leave him cold. And when he’s cold, his compulsive little problem lands him in the lap of Lucy Fitzpatrick.

THE PLAN
Sean has a problem only Lucy can solve. Lucy has a problem only Sean can fix. The solution seems obvious: you scratch my back, and I’ll bail you out of jail. But when their business arrangement unexpectedly leaves Sean scorching hot and Lucy on the precipice of inner peace, can they convince the world—and Lucy’s big brother in particular—that this is the real deal?

Either way, both the Player and the Pixie are about to teach each other some pretty monumental lessons about family, life, but most importantly, love.

My Review (1)

I now have a ritual when it comes to Penny Reid (and by extension now Ms. Cosway)’s books:

  1. Receive the ARC in the mail.
  2. Celebrate by doing my “Reading Dance” (It is cute, not dorky and no one can convince me otherwise!)
  3. Read the book immediately – and I DO MEAN immediately – work, sleep or any other excuse doesn’t fly!
  4. Daze around for days in Hero Stupor (that’ a thing, actually it’s my thing!)
  5. Lastly, but never the least, have a re-read of the book (I say it’s for review, but let’s face it – it’s mostly to swoon over everything that is awesome in the book!)

And after being introduced to Penny’s (and subsequently Ms.Cosway’s) books – this has become my ritual, but something different happened when I read The Player and The Pixie – I read it asap I got it (of course!), but the moment I ended it, I read it again. YES AGAIN. IMMEDIATELY! Then I went ahead to work the next day – but this HERO STUPOR was a little different – I ended up in a whole serious discussion with my guy because of it – and fell in love with him all over again.

And then I read it again just day before posting this review. And I am going to try my best to make you understand why this book became one of those books which now is an intricate part of my life.

(I am posting the conversation at the end of the review)

“I did not belong on a sunny hillside in New Hampshire. I did not belong with a tart, odd-haired, magnificently arsed pixie who wore her heart on her sleeve.”
 Sean Cassidy is a jerk there is no denying it nor is there no way around it. We met Sean in The Hooker and The Hermit – and let me just tell you how brilliantly unlikable Sean was – extremely!
I didn’t expect there to be any redeeming qualities for this man, so when I read the blurb of this book – all I could think was “MY FAVORITE AUTHORS JUST WENT CUCKOO CUCKOO”
And then I started reading this book.
And then I fell headlong into serious case of adoratin for Sean Cassidy and that’s the only character reference you need – because when a hero is a jerk, he is jerk, in my eyes, ESPECIALLY if there is no reason behind it.
And Sean had a reason – in fact he had several – and they were heartbreaking.
“We’ll start with the basic pushup.”
Lucy snorted. “I know how to do a pushup.”
“I need to watch your form.”
“I have a great form.”
“Yes. You do.”
 Lucy is a woman with serious issues and a case of hero worship for her big brother. Ronan Fitzpatrick. And when she finds she is attracted to a man that her brother despises, those bring out her issues to the forefront – but she can’t ignore that attraction, even if she could try and ignore her issues!
I was intrigued by Lucy, even before this book – she has this habit of getting under your skin – you don’t hate her, but there are times, you just don’t understand her – emotionally. And that has honestly made her one of my favorite female protagonists this year!
“I’m too big and imposing to be beautiful.”
“That’s ridiculous.”
“Is it?” His eyes searched mine. “Most beautiful things are delicate, so fragile that even to look at them feels like they might break.”
 You can always find something new with these authors – not just because they seem to think on a whole new dimension, because they take issues and they make them into  issues that aren’t supposed to be ashamed of but issues that anybody could suffer from and that it’s okay to ask for help for them.
And that’s exactly what they have done.
What they also do is create a romance that not only has you in stitches but warms your heart – because it is weird, it’s unique and definitely real.
“I’ve missed you.”
She gave me a small smile like she found the statement silly, tilting her head to the side and allowing me to hold her fingers hostage. “When did you miss me?”
“Until now. Until right this moment.” I pressed her palm between mine, studying how we fit together, how my large hand swallowed her much smaller one. “I think I’ve always missed you.”
“I think I’ve missed you all my life,” I murmured unthinkingly to her.
THE CONVERSATION BETWEEN ME AND MY GUY!
Him: What’s up, doodles?
Me: Well, a book.
Him: You say it like it’s a surprise. Honey, it’s always about a book with you. God forbid, if you ever become that pensive about reality.
Me: This is different.
Him: You say that about every book *rolls his eyes*
Me: *turns to him fully*
So this book – the hero is jerk, the heroine is (ell spoilers, peeps!) and they fall for each other.
Him: Fictional heroes are always jerks with you. I mean, would it KILL for your authors to write about a nice guy?
ME: Doode, I fell in love with a nice guy. Now shush, and let me finish!
So, this hero? He is really bad at bedroom stuff okay? and he still has a reputation for a player. The heroine is the sister of his enemy and they fall for each other.
Him: Of course. So?
ME: Well, I just don’t get it. *hold up my hand, because he was about to interrupt* I mean I get how and why they fall for each other, but what I don’t get is how it didn’t hurt his “manpride” to take lessons from a girl on bedroom stuff?
Him: Manpride? *grins*
Me: You know what I mean!
Him: Darling, listen to me and make this part of your make up okay? *takes my hands in his* Guys aren’t build like girls – when it comes to the woman he adores, the woman he sees himself spending the rest of his life, the woman who is going to be the mother of his children – and that girl gives him back everything tenfold – he would never care that he is crap at anything even “bedroom stuff” *grins* and it wouldn’t matter, because he would be getting to learn with her and that feeling is indescribable. The feeling of knowing that everything he is learning is about the girl he is in love with – every touch that makes her sigh, every act that makes her laugh, everything is JUST FOR HER.
Knowing that he is the one for her, because he is what makes her sing, is the best reason for living.
And I would know, because I have felt like this since the day you came forward and took my hand.
Me: *speechless*
Him: It bodes well for our future, that I am able to make you speechless *grins and kisses my forehead*
(Here’s the doozy part – my guy isn’t wordy – he never uses words. In fact he hates words, usually just talks to me in grunts when I am next to him, and fires up the phone line the moment I am not. But NEVER has he ever said anything like this to me. I know that I mean the world to him – he shows me that with every action he takes – but in the year we have been together he has said the words “I love you” like maybe five times, in total!
So the fact that it was this book that gave me a reason to fall in love with all over again? It could have only happened with a Penny Reid and LH Cosway book and is just the icing on the cake!)

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | iBooks | Kobo | Barnes & Noble

Giveaway

This is an AWESOME GIVEAWAY!! ‘nough said! 

GO ENTER!

rafflecopter-redirect

About The Author (3)

L.H. Cosway

L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favorite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

She thinks that imperfect people are the most interesting kind. They tell the best stories.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Penny Reid

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter

z

IndieSageBlogger

One thought on “Blog Tour – Review and Giveaway: The Player and The Pixie by LH Cosway

Leave a Reply

