Book Review: Fire & Ice (The Locklaine Boys #1; a Love Hate Relationship spinoff) by Jessica Prince

28681059

**Fire & Ice is Griffin and Pepper’s story. It is book 1 in a spin off series for characters introduced in Love Hate Relationship. It is recommended you read Love Hate Relationship first**

Pepper O’Malley isn’t one to be toyed with. Fool her once, shame on you. Fool her twice, and they’ll have trouble finding your body. She used to dream of white picket fences and happily-ever-afters, but now she lives in the real world. As the saying goes, “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned,” especially when that woman is a redheaded spitfire.

Griffin Locklaine always viewed commitment as a four letter word. He was clear about what he wanted from the start and made no apologies for it. He didn’t care if he came off cold as ice. He lived for his job, his family, and his friends. He had no desire for a relationship. That was, until he saw the once-young-and-scrawny Pepper all grown up.

They’re like oil and water, fire and ice. A volatile combination that should never work together. Unfortunately, fate has other ideas. A spark like theirs left ignored has a tendency to burn out of control, leaving everyone to wonder who will be left standing when it finally explodes. Only one thing is certain. When they finally come together, it’s going to be epic.

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: This is a standalone romance, but it would be a better option for you to read Love Hate Relationship first, to understand the dynamics of this couple!

It’s been such a long time since a couple has grabbed my attention like Pepper and Griffin did in Love Hate Relationship – I mean their’s is a relationship that I really wanted in reality – yes, I know I am a masochist – but darn if it wouldn’t be too  much fun to be in a relationship like this *don’t even dare tell my guy, I said this!*

And here’s the thing ever since I first read the interaction between Griffin and Pepper, I just knew, I FREAKING KNEW, that they had something of a history, even if no one around them *got* that!

Griffin Locklaine is a manwhore – there is absolutely no denying that and no way getting around that, but even with his behavior, there was something missing or a piece that I had yet to be revealed to!

What we get in Fire & Ice is Griffin and Pepper’s journey to HEA – a past full of misunderstandings and insecurities and a present that is fraught with a little bit of ego and a lot of hope – and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED EVERY FREAKING SECOND OF IT!

Usually here’s what happens, even with second chance romances – there is an event that separates two hopeful lovers, a lot of misunderstandings or colored perceptions of the said event and resistance on both parts after coming together years later.

And here’s what is different about Fire & Ice – Griffin is Pepper’s older brother’s best friend – so she can’t really get him out of her life, especially considering there is a lot of overlap among their friends – so every single time they come in contact with each other it’s either hostility or icicles towards each other.

The author tells the story from the start – that is the first time Pepper ever came across Griffin and how she fell for him! And it was adorable. Until it wasn’t. Until that one night where everything went right and the next morning when everything went wrong.

This book just sucked me in – really throughout the  childhood phase and the present one – it isn’t hard to see how attracted these two are to each other and the feelings that they are both trying to ignore – but the best part (in my opinion, of course!) was how absolutely rock hard *pun totally intended* Griffin was in his resolution once he realized that Pepper was IT. And you can definitely see that resolution especially once  you get to know his side of the morning everything went wrong!

I adored Pepper – she is sassy, strong and absolutely confident with herself in a way that takes loads of guts – basically I would love to be her, when I grow up! But what I adored was her prickly relationship with Griffin – she was not only his match physically, but intellectually as well – and that is rare even in fictional worlds.

While I have gotten okay with reading second chance romances, I usually do not have a lot of patience with drama that is ensued which could have been resolved with a simple conversation – but that’s the best part about this book (and this author, really!) – she gets that the act of communication is important between a couple, even if that communication happens in loud voices!

With this book, Jessica Prince just became a part of my “AUTHORS I WISH I COULD MEET IN REALITY AND MAKE THEM FEEL AWKWARD WITH MY FANGIRL-ING, BUT PROBABLY WILL ONLY STALK FROM BEHIND COMPUTER” **Sigh**

P.S. Anybody (yes, Ms. Prince, I am talking you) who can get me paperback copies of Colors Series? Because I am in serious LUST with those covers *_*

“Don’t tell me I don’t fucking love you,” he said, his tone fierce. “I bought a hair dryer just so you’d have it here to use whenever you stayed the night.”
Bam!
“I stocked up on what’s probably the most disgusting snack known to man simply because they’re your favorite.”
Bam!
“No one, and I mean no one has a key to my house but me, and now you. I’ve never given a key to anyone.”
Bam, bam, bam!
“For Christ’s sake, I named my cat after you! A cat that fucking hates me! So don’t tell me I don’t love you, because everything I’ve done is because I’m out of my goddamned mind, crazy for you, you stubborn, hardheaded woman!”

 

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

One thought on “Book Review: Fire & Ice (The Locklaine Boys #1; a Love Hate Relationship spinoff) by Jessica Prince

Leave a Reply

