Triple Bonanza – ARC Review: The Masters and Mercenaries Series Bundle (#1, #2 & #3) by Lexi Blake

Lexi Blake - 1 (1)

Yup, You read it right, you are getting three reviews in one post (yes, it will be a little long, but you also have a giveaway at the end of it, so you just might want to read it till the end 😉

I fell in love with Lexi’s writing from the moment I picked up this series and literally, I went on a reading binge and I couldn’t put down a single book in this series –NOT EVEN ONE SINGLE BOOK – That’s how awesome this particular series was for me!! 

There will be reviews for each single book in this series (including novellas), and the amazing Lexi Blake has kindly agreed to giveaway a SIGNED AND PERSONALIZED copy of one of her books to one amazing winner – this giveaway will be open till 23rd February (why that particular date, you’ll know soon enough!)

Hope my reviews entice you enough to make you want to pick up this series, because you definitely won’t be disappointed! 😀

12712973

A routine mission…

Sean Taggart is hunting a deadly terrorist, and his only lead is the lovely Grace Hawthorne. She’s the executive assistant for an employment agency Sean suspects is a front for illegal activities. To get the truth, he is going to have to get very close to Grace, a task he is all too eager to undertake when he discovers her deliciously submissive nature.

…turns into a dangerous seduction.

Soon, Grace Hawthorne is living a double life. By day, she is the widowed mother of two college-aged sons. By night, she submits to Sean’s every dark desire. She’s living out her wildest fantasies of pleasure—intimate acts of trust she’s only read about. As passion engulfs her, a murderer strikes, and Grace learns that Sean has a deeply hidden agenda. Will Sean choose his mission and break her heart or be the Master of her dreams?

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of the book via the author in exchange for an honest review ❤

Another Disclaimer: The book (and the series) is meant for mature audiences and not just legal 😀

Yet Another Disclaimer: Each book in this series can be read as a standalone, but why would you even want to? Really!

After Fifty Shades of Poop, I haven’t been able to read any BDSM books – because that was my first BDSM book ( and the biggest mistake of my life!). But when I stumbled across The Masters and Mercenaries Series by Lexi Blake, I have to say I was definitely intrigues – I have always been a fan of romances involving the armed forces, spies and even security teams – so this series had that going for me – so I went “What the Bippity Boop” and ended up requesting it thinking I will just skate through the BDSM parts!

Boy was I wrong – in assuming that all authors would be like the One Who Will Not be Named when it comes BDSM and I am so glad that I had that misconception rectified.

FOR THIS IS A FREAKING AWESOME SERIES!!!

The Dom Who Loved Me is the first book in a series that introduces a whole new family – a family made by choice (for most!) but a family that is loyal and loving in the fighting and screaming obscenities kind of way and I LOVED every single second of it!!!

How Could I Not?

Sean Taggert works in his brother’s security company, that may or may not work for the CIA as well. But there is a difference, Sean and others in the company are also Dominants – as in spanking their woman kind of dominants. And while he likes to “play” spy, Sean’s real talents lie elsewhere – (and no I don’t mean the bedroom!) – in the kitchen. He wants to be a chef but figures he owes his brother to go ahead and work with him to help out!

He has been feeling restless for a while now, feeling as if something is missing from his life and even the normal play doesn’t seem to excite him as much as before! But when he sees Grace Hawthorne, a woman in frumpy clothes and sexy as sin heels – he is not only intrigued but definitely interested.

Grace on the other hand, is a 40 something, widowed mother of two college going sons – the older woman and a walking irony. All she has in her life is her work and her romance books – something she desperately wishes to experience but somehow has always eluded her. And then Sean walks into her office.

“Let me put this as plainly as I can. Me, Dom. You, sub.”

I really liked this book – you are introduced to the dynamics of this family and each character has so many layers, with enough tidbits left in the wind, that you can’t help but crave more about each character (Yes, I can see how sneaky you actually are Lexi!). 

But coming back to the couple in question – I am so glad that Lexi started off this series with a Dom who is more calm and a lot less rigid in his play – gave me a chance to be able to get used to the idea that BDSM books can be good.

Saying that, Grace and Sean’s love was a little hard to swallow – majorly due to the insta-love between them (she is 40 years old! Not believable at all!), but what more than made up for it was the plot and the writing of the characters.

Lexi has this way of actually being able to introduce a variety of characters without even overwhelming the reader and most importantly the protagonists of the current book – plus, unless you are a stalker of Goodreads like I am, then you won’t ever know which character will get their HEA after the current one -oh you will have your favorites, but you will never know! BAHAHAHAHAHAHA 😉

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

13602321

A woman in danger…

Serena Brooks is a bestselling author of erotic fiction. She knows how to write a happy ending but hasn’t managed to find one of her own. Divorced and alone, she has no one to turn to when a stalker begins to threaten her life. The cops don’t believe her. Her ex-husband thinks she’s making the whole story up. She has no one left to turn to except a pair of hired bodyguards. They promise to guard her body, but no one can protect her heart.

Two men in search of love…

Adam Miles and Jacob Dean are halves of a whole. They’ve spent their entire adult lives searching for the one woman who can handle them both. Adam is the playful, indulgent lover, while Jacob is the possessive, loving Dom. When Serena comes into their lives, Adam is certain that she’s the one. But Jacob’s past comes back to haunt them all. He is suspicious of Serena’s story, and his concerns are driving a wedge between him and Adam. But when the stalker strikes, they will have to come together or lose each other forever…

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of the book via the author in exchange for an honest review ❤

Another Disclaimer: The book (and the series) is meant for mature audiences and not just legal 😀

Yet Another Disclaimer: Each book in this series can be read as a standalone, but why would you even want to? Really!

BIGGEST DISCLAIMER OF ALL: This romance has M/M/F  pairing. Please don’t read if you can’t handle the amazeballs that is Adam and Jake! 

Before reading this book, you have to know I have never really understood three-person relationships. Sure I could read about it, if I was in a mood – but actually understand it? Never really happened.

But with Adam and Jake? You could see it right from the start. But I am getting ahead of myself 😀

Serena is a divorced erotic romance author (Tehehehe!!) and she is being stalked, so when she is recommended Taggert Security, the last thing she expects is to run into Adam and Jake, her very fantasy turned to reality.

Adam and Jake on the other hand, are two halves of the whole and it freaking shows – where Adam is the compassionate one, Jake is the stern one. They just basically complete each other (and no they are not gay.) But boy do both of them have baggage!! Both were dis-honorably discharged from the army for being exactly who they are and that basically has played havoc on them. They share woman, but where Adam is looking for something permanent, Jake believes that no woman would ever want to be with them if he was in the equation.

Boy, does Serena prove both of them wrong.

“Uhm, what floor do you want?” That was polite, right?

Adam snorted but Serena smiled, a wide grin on her face. “I think it’s the fifteenth floor. But you’re the one who works here, so you might know better than me.”

God, he was such a dumbass. He was so much better when he was just killing something.”

“Just because Hottie McHot Ass walks in with his super metro hot best friend, and all those like muscles and shit, doesn’t mean you get to turn into a pile of goo. We hate them.”

What makes this book a freaking success in my opinion, is the fact that Lexi nails every single I could have had with this kind of relationship – she doesn’t really take it at face value – or – the fact that everything would just magically work for the threesome (that sounds dirty, but it really isnt!!) – OH NO! She made them sweat and work for it like you wouldn’t believe!

And the more I understood about Lexi’s writing, the more I fell in love with her – because no matter how unrealistic you might think the plot would be after reading the blurb – you will find every single of her characters to be realistic and absolutely relate able and that is one hell of accomplishment for her!

Adam, Jake and Serena were no different either – their individuality and togetherness was perfectly captured along with their troubles, their struggles and their strengths. So, while I am a one-man woman, reading this book made me wish for a Adam and Jake sandwich for myself, just for a little while 😉

“Adam, I don’t know what I would do without you, man. I really hope you can forgive me, because my life would suck a** without you, but I’m going after her with you or without you. You got me into this. You manipulated me until I fell hard for her. And I f***ed up. But I won’t back down. She’s the one. She’s the one for us, but if you’re too chickenshit to try, then she can be the one for me.”

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

13647881

A Man with a Past…

Liam O’Donnell fled his native Ireland years ago after one of his missions ended in tragedy and he is accused of killing several of his fellow agents. Shrouded in mystery, Liam can’t remember that fateful night. He came to the United States in disgrace, seeking redemption for crimes he may or may not have committed. But the hunt for an international terrorist leads him to London and right back into the world he left behind.

A Woman Looking for a Future…

Avery Charles followed her boss to London, eager to help the philanthropist with his many charities. When she meets a mysterious man who promises to show her London’s fetish scene, she can’t help but indulge in her darkest fantasies. Liam becomes her Dom, her protector, her lover. She opens her heart and her home to him, only to discover he’s a man on a mission and she’s just a means to an end.

When Avery’s boss leads them to the traitorous Mr. Black, Liam must put together the puzzle of his past or Avery might not have a future…

My Review (1)

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of the book via the author in exchange for an honest review ❤

Another Disclaimer: The book (and the series) is meant for mature audiences and not just legal 😀

Yet Another Disclaimer: Each book in this series can be read as a standalone, but why would you even want to? Really!

Honestly speaking when I picked up this book, I went in blind
(like I did for all the books in this series) so I was really hoping that I would get my favorite character’s story (The yummilicious Ian!!) but instead I got the one character;s story who I hadn’t really paid attention to until now.

Liam is a man without a past – as in he has forgotten that one important night where his life forked in a different direction than he had expected to. And now, all he wants to do is fade in the background and not let any focus on him and I didn’t realize how true that actually was, until I realized that in the previous two books, Liam didn’t really make that much of an impact.

Can you see the absolute ingeniousness of Lexi’s writing? 

But now for Liam to actually move forwrd, time has come for him to face his past – to understand what happened that one night when everything went to hell.

“She doesn’t know who I am,” Liam finally admitted the real problem. “When she finds out, she won’t want me. I’m a bastard.”

“Yeah, you were. And then you met her. We don’t know who we really are until we meet the people we’re supposed to be with. They can drag us down or they can lift us up.”

Avery Charles suffered a tragedy that no woman should ever have to suffer – but she definitely emerged stronger  for it – yes, it took her a while to actually heal physically and move back to the real world, but she was stronger before she even healed and that made me respect her all the more.

Yes, for me, though Avery was a little fade to the background sort of heroine, but that worked for her and for Liam as well, for they were perfect for each other.

As for the plot, boy was this one a doozy. I don’t know how or from where Lexi does her research, but she is brilliant, from the action scenes to plot twists to enough conspiracy theories, that definitely ensures that you have no choice but to actually pick up the next book in the series.

Yup, Lexi Blake’s writing is an addiction, and to be honest I am not really ready for rehab yet 😀

“Punishment? You don’t have any right to punish me. And I can curse. I choose not to most of the time, but don’t think it doesn’t go through my head, asshole. I was trying to give you something. I was trying to give you my body.”
“That’s where you f***ed up, little girl. I don’t want your body. I want your soul. I want your everything. And I definitely want your orgasms. I want them all. I’ll be a greedy bastard, savoring them and hoarding them all for myself. You wanted to give me your body? I can buy that on a street corner, sweetheart. You’re the one who’s being selfish now.”

My Rating (1)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Add To Goodreads (1)

Buy Now

Giveaway

GUYS, LEXI BLAKE IS AMAZING ENOUGH TO GIVE EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU THE CHANCE TO HAVE ONE BOOK from HER COLLECTION (YOUR CHOICE!!) SIGNED AND PERSONALIZED TO YOU!! 

Isn’t she amazing!!! ❤ 

Also, Just so you know, you will have loads of chance to enter (I will be posting reviews on the whole series!!) But all you need to do is, click on the image below to know just how to enter!! :

rafflecopter-redirect

3 thoughts on “Triple Bonanza – ARC Review: The Masters and Mercenaries Series Bundle (#1, #2 & #3) by Lexi Blake

Leave a Reply

