ARC Review: Demons, Our Best Friends by Diana T. Scott

25526216

Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

Review

I received a Physical Copy of the book via the author in exchange for an honest review.

Can we all just take a moment to appreciate the beautiful cover that this book has?

*a moment of appreciative silence*

Being the self admitted cover whore that I am, I could resist the opportunity of getting my hands on this book – and the fact that it was accompanied by such an intriguing blurb – yeah I have never been the one to deny my impulses anyway.

“I told myself that I could live with your friendship and nothing more. I wanted to do that for you, it didn’t seem fair to force you to make friends with my demons. Who knew they were already falling for you?”

Ava is a med student – someone who has suffered a loss that is unimaginable – loosing her twin was like loosing a piece of her soul, a piece that no matter what or who will ever be able to fulfill that hole in her life, until Sebastian.

Sebastian, is the second year resident who catches Ava’s eyes in the first go. She doesn’t understand the attraction or even the interest she has in him, but goes with the flow. All she knows is that the darkness in him attracts the darkness in her.

“In that moment I realized that this love – hate battle I had with myself, for you, suddenly felt insignificant and as long as you were okay I would gladly come to the battlefield day after day, after day.”

Told in Ava’s POV – this book hooked me right in from the start –  I don’t really read New Adult books – mostly because the characters tend to be a little immature and make mistakes that aren’t just illogical but also stupid.

But in this book, it wasn’t about making mistakes, it was understanding that their pasts, their losses shouldn’t actually stop them from moving forward in life and the author along with the protagonists does that beautifully!

I loved the writing style of the author – it is simple, to the point and more factual – which makes it all the more possible to get her point across

It was so easy to fall in love with the characters like falling on a pile of snow to make a snow angel – perfection indeed.
Demons are metaphorical here, but that doesn’t mean that they aren’t real, that they don’t influence our lives and that the fear induced by them isn’t paralyzing!

Point to note – Diana’s first language isn’t English. So there are some typos, but that doesn’t mean that it takes anything away from the story. It’s just an FYI.

Everything about this book – the plot, the characters – makes Ms. Scott an author that I would be on watch out for!

“You were exactly what I needed. I don’t know how to love you, except with everything I have. And most of what I have, what I am, is pain and it’s dark and it’s twisted.”

 

Rating

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26798372-beyond-repair?from_search=true&search_version=service

Leave a Reply

