Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: Signs Point To Yes by Sandy Hall

SignsPointToYesTourBanner

Hello my wonderful pretty bookworms ❤ 

How are you all doing? I hope you have read some wonderful books since the last time I saw you!  😀 

Today I am bringing you, another YA Contemporary by the very talented Sandy Hall, the author of A Little Something Different! 

So read on for my thoughts on this cute dorky story and enter for a chance to win a paperback copy (US Only) of the beautiful book 😉 

Enjoy your stay, lovelies ❤

SignsPointtoYes

The author of A Little Something Different brings you the most adorkable romance ever.

Jane, a superstitious fangirl, takes an anonymous babysitting job to avoid an unpaid internship with her college-obsessed mom. The only problem? She’s babysitting the siblings of her childhood friend and new crush, Teo.

Teo doesn’t dislike Jane, but his best friend Ravi hates her, and is determined to keep them apart. So Teo’s pretty sure his plans for a peaceful summer are shot. His only hope is that his intermittent search for his birth father will finally pan out and he’ll find a new, less awkward home. Meanwhile, at Jane’s house, her sister Margo wants to come out as bisexual, but she’s terrified of how her parents will react.

In a summer filled with secrets and questions, even Jane’s Magic 8 ball can’t give them clear answers, but Signs Point to Yes.

Review

This is my first Sandy Hall book. While I do have my copy of A Little Something Different – I still have to get to reading it – the curse of the never ending TBR, which I am pretty sure all of you lovely readers would definitely understand 😀

Jane is a typical fangirl – knows all about the internet, loves making reference to fictional characters and is basically trying to live her life the way she wants in the shadow of her older sister Margo.

When the summer comes around, she looks for a job, any job that can take away from her mother’s whining about college! When she finds a babysitting job in her neighbourhood, she never realises that it would end up changing her life.
I liked Jane. She is the epitome of a typical fangirl and I could see myself in her – the shyness, the want to sarcastically respond to everything said to you, the fact that she felt more comfortable alone all resonated with me more than anything.

When Jane gets a babysitting job at Teo’s house, it is a bit difficult for her because Teo’s best friend Ravi really really hates her. But soon the blossoming feelings between Teo and Jane are bungled by reality and they all have to now cope up with being more adults than teens.

I have to say off the bat that I really like Ms. Hall’s writing. It is funny, yet sober. It is simple yet has a depth that reaches inside you to tug on your hearts. And I really really loved the characterizations, even the secondary characters like Margo and Ravi. It is in these characters that I have found an interesting connection back to my teenage years and I absolutely loved Ms. Hall for just that.

But sadly, the plot just fell a little flat in execution for me! It could have been brilliant and amazing, because it had just the right components for it, but somehow they never really worked together. The major reason for this, at least according to me is that I think I am now moving on from Young Adult Contemporary, and therefore, books that do actually have that sweet taste of young adulthood aren’t really doing it for me now. Despite that, I actually commend Ms. Hall to have kept my interest in the book despite my not going for YA Contemporary books!

Rating

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Recommendation

This book is one that I would recommend to every single teen I know, not only because it is brilliantly written, but because it is understandable – you can understand every emotion these characters are going through, because you once have or are currently going through them and that is an amazing achievement by this author ❤

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Giveaway

You have a chance of winning a Paperback Copy of this Signs Point To Yes by Sandy Hall.(US Only!) All you need to do is the following: 

  1. Follow this little blog 😀 
  2. Leave a Blog Post Comment recommending a book to me – your favorite book would do 😛 

The above two are compulsory! Below are optional but get you extra entries (leave an extra comment detailing how and the name by which you did the following entries!).

  1. Go to For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Facebook Page, like and share the giveaway post pinned on top of the page. 
  2. Follow @fortheloveoffictionalworlds on Instagram
  3. Follow @FictionalWorm on Twitter
  4. Share this post on any social media platform 

The Giveaway Closes on the November 12th! The book will be shipped by November 18th 🙂  

All the best lovelies ❤ 

About the Author

SONY DSC

I’m a teen librarian from New Jersey where I was born and raised. I have a BA in Communication and a Master of Library and Information Science from Rutgers University. When I’m not writing, or teen librarian-ing, I enjoy reading, slot machines, marathoning TV shows, and long scrolls through Tumblr. A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT is my first novel.
For more chances to win this beautiful book and other thoughts and opinions on this book, you can check out the whole list of blog tour stops by clicking the link below 🙂
ButtonXBT
4 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Review + Giveaway: Signs Point To Yes by Sandy Hall

  1. Beverly S. says:

    Thanks for your review of Signs Point To Yes plus the giveaway. Sounds like a good book to “escape” with on the porch in this beautiful fall weather. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

