ARC Review: Love Me Back To Life by Elle Mraz

26122934

Kendall Matthews is intelligent, quick on her feet, and compassionate – everything you’d want in an ICU nurse. When a fatal accident turns her world upside down, she struggles to pick up the pieces, uncertain that she’ll ever regain control or rediscover her sense of self.

Dr. Anson Allaway is a renowned neurosurgeon … and an unapologetic playboy. Kendall’s colleague at South Florida’s Gold Coast General, he would never consider dipping his pen in the company ink (despite rumors to the contrary).

But everything changes when Kendall brazenly looks to Anson for an escape from her grief – and he unexpectedly finds his way back from the burdens of his own past.

This is book 1 in the Gold Coast Romance series.

Review

I received an eARC of the book via the author in exchange of an honest review.

I am a sucker for a protagonist who survives a tragedy and comes out strong at the end. I am even more of a sucker if it’s a cynical protagonist who has given up on love and yet finds the most beautiful love of their lives! It just gives me hope and hope is a beautiful and precious thing in life.

What I don’t like? CLIFFHANGERS!!! And I sadly, enough did not know that this book would end in one. Well sort off. I mean c’mon! You can’t end a book like that! Why were you trying to kill me, Elle? What did I ever do to you?

 I had thought that I had calmed down enough to write a review – oh well! Oops!!

Kendall Mathews is a woman on the prowl to reclaim some control over her life after losing her husband, the love of her life suddenly! She believes a one night stand with a playboy doctor in her hospital is just the thing to get things in her control.

Dr. Anson is the unequivocal flirt. Imagine every stereotype you have heard about Surgeons and apply it to Aaron, but with a pinch of salt for Dr. Aaron has a story that will tear your heart to pieces.

Kendall and Anson have an explosive chemistry – a chemistry that had me reaching for cold water in my office with the AC on full blast (I live in India. We have HOT summers!). But both Kendall and Anson have bitten off more than they can chew.

Kendall is still wary of relationships and finds herself in one with Anson, the last person that she should even be considering for a potential partner. She is wary of his reputation, still in mourning for her husband and potentially too unlike herself to actually contemplate going into a relationship with any one.

Anson on the other hand, while flirtatious, also has his own secrets!! He has had a past (and apparently a job) that he still keeps a secret and before Kendall hasn’t let anyone in! He is the epitome of a playboy with a good heart that just wants to believe in hope.

Best Part about this book – it is in DUAL POV! It’s like the author listened to me and granted my dearest wish – a book that has both POV’s for a holistic experience – just so I can scream and shout at my iPad about the choices they are making!

I have to admit though, While I did love the story – Kendall did get on my nerves. I felt that she sometimes needed a quick shake to get her head in the game. I mean she gave more mixed signals than a traffic light on short circuit! But yes, I understand that her grief and guilt made her act that way, so I wasn’t irritated. Much. But I blame Anson for her behaviour as well.

Aaron kept too many secrets. Every single time I thought that he had come clean about his past or even his feelings – he turned right back around to acting an asshole, so it was no wonder that Kendall never really understood how to open up either.

This wonderfully written book is one that I actually loved – even when the characters well exasperating the heck out of me! The writing is perfectly in balance with the plot and the characters themselves, especially since both Anson and Kendall have a pretty extensive background (most of which haven’t even been told yet!) – but what I didn’t like was the CLIFHHANGER!

I need closure in my life, especially when I am reading. I have this incessant need to finish a series, and that is mostly the reason why I tend to complete whole series in a day and the reason why I don’t tend to read incomplete series – but Elle did the cruellest thing – she didn’t not tell me that this ended in a cliffhanger and there was a moment when I was about 92% done with the book, and BAM! She introduces a new twist! Do you even know how that made me feel, Elle? Do you even care??? </3

If you are okay with Cliffhangers – definitely read this book. It is the kind that stays with you, even after you have worked through all your rage regarding Cliffhangers!

Rating

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Recommendation

This is a really good book and I absolutely loved knowing what was exactly happening at every single moment with both the characters. And if you are the sadistic kind and love Cliffhangers, definitely pick this book up. And if you are like me, I highly suggest you wait till the second book is released, but still I recommend picking this book up!

Leave a Reply

