Arc Review: Love’s Curse by Darren Gallagher

25753350

Justin is awoken by a phone call from a frantic Camille, begging him to come rescue her. She was the girl he’d always been crazy about, but just always out of his reach. Their world has been turned upside down and overrun by Zombies, and she promises him they’d finally be together if he saves her.

Blinded by his feelings and taking this as his chance to be with her, Justin risks everything and rushes off across country against the advice of his sister and his friends. When he arrives however, things don’t go as smoothly as he’d hoped.

He regrets his valiant effort to save her, and makes the decision to return home, with or without her.

Camille agrees, but the journey home doesn’t go smoothly, and when they arrive back, things get much, much worse…

Review

I received an eARC of the book via the author in exchange for an honest review.

Let’s get something straight before I jump into this review. I DO NOT LIKE ZOMBIES!

I really do not like them. While I am fascinated as a shrink about Cannibalism – the whole undead thing just basically creeps me out. And let me tell you, being a Forensic Psychologist, it takes a lot to creep me out!!

So when I started this book, I actually was cautious – I am one of those readers who visualises everything that happens in the book. It is very rarely that I do not have an imaginative film going on inside my head – so with Zombies and their dragging gait and their tendency to bite into human flesh not to mention their total dead-ness had freaked me out even before I started the book.

I honestly loved Darren Gallagher’s first book –  Strings which was a collection of short horror stories. So I had high hopes for this book as well. And it didn’t disappoint. Well not on major points to be honest.

This is Darren’s first full length novel and he has shown a brilliant effort! The story is gripping, the world very interesting and the characters quite relatable!

And while I shuddered my way through all the zombie adventures, I was still left a bit unsatisfied. That could have been because we straight away jumped into the world of Zombies without any history provided as to why these Zombies exist!

And I did keep reading, hoping that one of the characters may reveal as to what happened to make the world the way it is. The same goes for the characters – very little history is revealed of their lives, and while they were perfectly likeable on their own (except Camille – she was a total bitch!) with their own little flaws, the book could have been a little stronger with more background!

The writing was perfect – I don’t think I will have any complaints about Darren’s writing – but since this is his first full length novel, I am cutting him a little slack, because I do know he has the potential to be an amazing writer one day!

All in all, even if the possibility of the Zombie Apocalypse is low, let’s just say that I am building my own underground library where I can safely ride off the storm without the possibility of having my brains eaten, in the comfort of my books!

Rating

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .5

Recommendation

Do you Zombies. Read this book. Do you like horror stories? Read this book. Do you like realistic endings? Definitely read this book.

It has got potential. Plus, you do get to learn awesome Zombie killing techniques – you never know when you might need them 😛

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Leave a Reply

