Review: A Time To Reap (The Legend of Carter Gabel #1) by Jonas Lee


Pemberton Academy is not just a school, it’s a gathering place for the children of the future that are afflicted with Temporal Displacement and Telepathy; in short, time travelers and mind readers who have been diagnosed with this “disease.” The Academy is not all as it seems after an explosion nearly takes one of its classmates, but not before Carter Gabel rescues her by using an unknown symptom related to his described illness. An unsanctioned group called the Program begins taking notice as the two classmates exhibit stronger abilities when they are together. Carter’s sense of reality begins to unwind as he learns more about his estranged father’s involvement with it all.

Carter will have to overcome the past of his father leaving, the present of an unknown adversary hunting him down and a future that seems to change with each decision he makes. He will have to learn who to trust out of the people in his life if he wants to conquer the looming notion that the government may be hunting him down because of his developing abilities.

Review:

I received the digital copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. 

When Shannon, Mr. Lee’s assistant contacted me for reviewing this book, I was quite honestly excited. First, because this was the first request for review I had gotten through my blog (hells yeah!) and second, because this book is about time travel. Now I love the concept of time travel So I was actually quite excited to actually read this book. But I had just read another series about time travel, so I kept it aside, thinking that if I read this one immediately, I will definitely mix up terms and plot if I did.

And I have just recently read this one, and you have no idea how irritated I am with my past self. Now if I could leap back in my time I would definitely slap my past self and tell her in no uncertain terms that she needs to read this. (Damn what wouldn’t give to leap anywhere in time :P)

“I suddenly feel like I can become a super spy, and secretly, I feel a little sick, with a small amount of awesome mixed in. Apparently, I have super-secret powers, but as I’ve learned from movies and graphic novels, that crap is going to get me into some serious trouble.”

This story is about Carter Gabel, a teenager in a world where time traveling and mind reading is considered a ‘disease’ (I don’t know how, I would love to time travel :D). His talent emerges late, but he lives in a world where in his ever leap is recorded and accounted for. All that changes when he meets Mo, a girl from his school, who doesn’t speak but can read minds.

“It’s you, Carter. You amplify her, and vice versa. You’re what our circle calls Gemini Twins. It’s like those Deslin twins—apart, they don’t exhibit much, but together they are very strong. It’s the same with you two.”

Carter is a sassy little boy whose inner monologue sounds like a sneaky little sarcastic bug who you can’t help but adore. He is courageous in a way that is instinctive to him and that is enough for me to respect him! Carter leaping back into time happened quite late for him, thus, he is enjoying it even if he knows that he is always being tracked and that he has been getting little notes after every leap, with a countdown to an event he doesn’t know about.

While I have many Fictional Boyfriends (and I am proud of this non – existent polygamous relationship), I have yet to find a fictional boy who I could actually see as my Fictional Brother. I am an only child, so it goes without saying that I have been waiting quite a while to find that perfect big brother character. And in Carter I did. He is exactly how I pictured (more liked wished) my brother would have been like!

So, Thank You Mr. Lee, for giving me my First Fictional Big Brother ❤

Mo is the girl who had been humiliated in front of the entire academy, and though she doesn’t talk to anyone, doesn’t mean that she is beaten down. Nope not at all. She is a telepath able to read minds of others around her, she is every bit of Carter’s equal. And as I read the book, I fell in love with her slowly but surely. She is the epitome of a teenage heroine. She is smart, honest, loyal and has the ability to kick ass when needed. She is also beautiful even with the image of the shaved

“I don’t necessarily ask her to be my girlfriend or anything as corny as that. But over the past few days, we have grown together like vines and are able to share things with one another in a way no one else can. We are further along in sharing ourselves than most couples are in their first few years. Labels aren’t really needed. As she holds my hand on the last part of the trip, it’s evident to us both we are feeling love, as best as we know how to describe it. We have yet to kiss long enough to make it feel like a reality, and already she carries my heart in her pocket.”

Now, those who know me quite well, know that I tend to not like romance in teen novels. I do feel that this age is not for the all-encompassing love that adult romances tend to have. The same goes for fantasy or science fiction. So when a romantic angle was introduced, I was more than wary, I was literally shouting “NO NO NUPE NO” but Carter and Mo’s interactions were more funny than romantic and I think that’s what turned me into their biggest believers. They aren’t actually cheesy, they are more of companions, funny and snarky with a little puberty humor mixed in. And I absolutely loved them (Yes I see a OTP in my future!).

“You will get back here to me because the love in us can’t go out. Not for any reason.”

The plot in itself, is amazingly intricate.There were times when I was feeling a little lost, because there were a lot of characters involved in the plot line and it sometimes became a little difficult to actually understand who was on whose side. But this is a fast paced novel, with enough intrigue to keep you at the edge of your seat and to keep your emotions involved.

“There is going to come a day when the things you say are going to return to you faster than you send them. A wise person would make certain their words aren’t so sharp.”

The debut novel of Mr. Lee is beautifully written and an amazing start to a wonderful new series. I am in love with Carter and Mo, their relationship, their adventure and most of they themselves. The writing in itself is amazing and I have a feeling that Mr. Lee sees a lot of himself in Carter Gabel. I look forward to more adventures.

“My mistakes of yesterday are becoming the consequences of today.”

Rating:

4.5/5 Stars

Recommendation:

If you have ever loved Time Travel, then you should definitely give this book a chance. If you love science fiction with heroes and heroines who aren’t badass in the tough way, but in a way that shows inner strength, again definitely give this a chance. If you love fast paced action filled adventures, then do give this book a try. Basically, definitely give this book a try.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

4 thoughts on “Review: A Time To Reap (The Legend of Carter Gabel #1) by Jonas Lee

Leave a Reply

