Review: Ignite (Ignite #1) by Lily Paradis

After her father’s untimely demise in a mining accident and her mother’s abandonment, Lauren Lindsay is no stranger to loss. She’s used to living life for one person: herself. That is, until another family tragedy thrusts three children into her care and uproots her life in ways she could never imagine.

Lauren’s first instinct is to run, until she meets their striking, mysterious neighbor Dean Powell. Their immediate chemistry and his connection with her late father just might be enough to keep her in town long enough to uncover pieces of her past that she never had answers to. Dean’s shady past and her reluctance to trust him could cost her the life she’s always been searching for, but will she run back to her old life?

Or will she choose to stay and live the life her father always imagined for her?

22845021

Review:

I met this author on Instagram as well and I absolutely fell in love with the book description there! So when she was offering her book for a reduced price for Asian countries, I just had to buy it, now didn’t I?

Best part though, I purchased and had it personally signed!! My first personally signed book! Can you believe how absolutely sweet she is? And another best thing, this book arrived exactly on the New Year’s 😀

I was really excited to read this book, and not just because it is a signed copy, but because the blurb honestly was quite interesting.

Ignite is the debut novel of the author and she does a pretty damn good job of keeping my interest throughout the book.

This book started unconventionally with Lauren, going in for the renewal of her DMV license where she bumps into a guy who looks like “Henry Cavill” in author’s own words.

Lauren is 21 years old and has lost her father, her mother doesn’t even like her and the only one she has left in the world is her twin, Tucker. When she learns that her stepmother had passed away and left her the guardianship of her 3 children, her world is tilts on it’s axis all over again!

Dean Powell, the ‘Henry Cavill’ lookalike she meets at the DMV, is also her father’s neighbor and a rumored player. He is also connected to her father in ways, she has still not understood.

This book was interesting enough to capture my interest for the whole time I had it in my hand. The plot, the characters and the writing, got me hooked on.

Dean Powell, in one word, is adorable. He is confident without being cocky. He is caring without being smothering (Hey that rhymed :D).

He also has his secrets and his insecurities, his inability to trust anyone, not even himself. So in short, his fictional perfection indeed. And I loved him from the start.

Lauren, on the other hand is a little hard to like. She swings from being mature enough to being a whiny little girl. Lets face it though, anyone who has been thrown the curve she has, has the right to be a little whiny. But just when I feel that she is has grown up, that she has gone beyond the maturity line, she jumps right back into the little whiny girl area. A character is supposed to grow up and beyond, and this didn’t happen with Lauren until the very end. But, yes, even till then, she had my sympathies, because I don’t think I would have been able to handle what got thrown at her!

Yawooza!!!

Yawooza!!!

Dean Powell – Let’s just take a moment to admire this sheer perfection, now shall we? 

This guy was, honestly the best part about this book! I am not even kidding. He just made it infinitely better. Yes, he has scars (figuratively and literally!), but he has risen up and beyond his past. Just like most of us want to. He grew up, worked hard enough to gain custody of his sister Jenny, getting her away from foster homes. 

This was enough for me to fall head over heels for him! I have always been a sucker for those bad boys with a soft core. And Dean had it in spades. 

This, book being the debut novel of the author, is far better than what I expected! Yes, there were a few things that rankled. Lauren, who cries at the drop of a hat, did get on my nerves (but honestly, since I have never been a crier, I really don’t like my female protagonists to be one either! So this could be just me!). Then, there were times, when I felt that the story, which had flowing in a stream, would just abruptly change paces. 

But these were little irritants compared to how much I absolutely loved the book in itself. 

Ms. Paradis is definitely an author I would watch out for! Not just because Dean Powell’s story will be revealed in ARCLIGHT (yup, that’s me standing first in the line for her copy! HI LILY!! :D) but because this author sucks you in, with her story, her characters and her writing! 

Her books from now will be on my TBR from default. And no, my TBR pile isn’t quite high enough yet 😉

Rating: 

4/5 Stars

Recommendation:

She is a new author on the block! And does pretty damn good with her debut novel! And now, for her, there is no where to go but up! 

You should read this book, if you are interested in your characters evolving, not just individually but together! And you of course love a bad boy changed for the better by love 😉

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

11 thoughts on “Review: Ignite (Ignite #1) by Lily Paradis

Leave a Reply

