The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Isadora’s family is seriously screwed up—which comes with the territory when you’re the human daughter of the ancient Egyptian gods Isis and Osiris. Isadora is tired of living with crazy relatives who think she’s only worthy of a passing glance—so when she gets the chance to move to California with her brother, she jumps on it. But her new life comes with plenty of its own dramatic—and dangerous—complications . . . and Isadora quickly learns there’s no such thing as a clean break from family.

Blending Ally Carter’s humor and the romance of Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly, The Chaos of Stars takes readers on an unforgettable journey halfway across the world and back, and proves there’s no place like home.

That pretty cover held such heart break </3

That pretty cover held such heart break

Review:

For the first time, I am lost for words to describe the feelings I have for this book! (And definitely, not in a good way, trust me!).

The roller coaster I have ridden in feelings when reading this book, is something  that I would never forgive the author for, especially since the ride apparently only started ‘What The Frickity Frack’ and ended with ‘I swear to Lucifer, I am just gonna cut you up now!’.

*deep calm breaths*

So here is what I actually liked about this book:

  1. The Cover: Just honestly look at this cover and tell me that you actually wouldn’t have picked up this book just for this (Go ahead, Lie to Me, I dare ya!). Well, at least this book would look pretty on my bookshelf *consoles myself*
  2. Every single chapter started off with a little background in Egyptian Mythology, which was definitely fun to read. I would actually go back just to read up on the mythological facts in this book, if and when I get over this horror, of course.
  3. Orion/Ry: Arguably, the best part in this book and sadly, the love interest of Isadora (Spoiler: She is an irritating specimen and a spoiled brat!). Ry is dreamy, intelligent, creative (he writes poetry *cue my stalkerishness* who is the epitome of Greek Adonis *Teehehehehe I see what you did there Ms. White* and deserves better than Isadora yet they end up together (Authors can never be reasoned with now, can they!?)

He totally walked into my heart with his patience, his way of logically and systematically every stupid argument Isadora had (And believe me, they were fantastically stupid!). And with every argument he made (like the one below), I wanted to smack Isadora harder and meaner.

“I didn’t fall in love with you. I walked into love with you, with my eyes wide open, choosing to take every step along the way. I do believe in fate and destiny, but I also believe we are only fated to do the things that we’d choose anyway. And I’d choose you; in a hundred lifetimes, in a hundred worlds, in any version of reality, I’d find you and I’d choose you.”

                *Ry just made my ovaries explode with this. No kidding*

Now cue to what I DID NOT like about this book!

  1. Isadora: How can you have good thoughts about a book where you do not even like the protagonist?? Honestly, she was one confused cookie. Okay so it goes without saying every human parent has their own idiosyncrasies, right? So it wouldn’t be a far off assumption to make that even God Parents would have their own. So would I have forgiven her for hating her parents or for believing that her parents didn’t love her (and procreated only for worship)? Sure I would have. Every teenager goes through that rebellious stage. But as the story progressed, her whining started getting on my nerves. She came off as a spoilt brat who was intent upon blaming everything that went wrong in her life on her parent’s apathy, which made her sound like a whiny little brat rather than a teenager working through some issues (at least, that’s how Ms. White wanted to portray her as, in my opinion!).

This is where the book just stopped working for me. If I can’t understand, like or at least empathise to a point with the main character, how else would I be able to generate an interest in how the events would turn out for her!

  1. The story: The blurb sounds interesting doesn’t it? Even I thought so. And this story would have been actually quite good, if it wasn’t so choppily written! Honestly speaking, I still haven’t read the Paranolmacy (did I spell that right!?) Series as yet; still on my TBR List, but after this book, even I am gonna be hesitant to grab those books as well.

The twists and turns in this book were predictable, and absolutely anti climatic and couldn’t even hold my interest for long. This book, in the end, turned out as if it was sloppily written and churned out at the threat of a deadline.

I think this book though will end up being just one of those pretty adornments on my bookshelf because I don’t really think I would ever really pick this book ever again. Being a cover snob, really worked against me, this time!

Rating and Recommendation

2/5 Stars (Rating only for Ry though, honestly!)

I can’t honestly recommend a book that put me through a reading slump. This book comes with “Read at Your Own Risk” tag.

9 thoughts on “The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

