The Infernal Devices: The Manga Series by Cassandra Clare and Illustrated by Hyekyung Baek

They be so pretty <3

They be so pretty ❤

“A manga-adaption to the prequel of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices is the story of Tessa Gray, a sixteen-year-old American girl traveling alone to Victorian London who runs afoul of the city’s sordid supernatural underworld. Rescued by the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, Tessa quickly finds herself caught up in an intrigue that may very well destroy her new friends – including the two enigmatic young men, Jem and Will, who have taken her under their wing…”

Review:

I tried to read The Mortal Instrument Series, I really did. I completed City of Bones, yet couldn’t garner any interest to complete the rest of the series and thus the reason why I never even thought about reading The Infernal Devices. To this day, TMI remains the only series I have not been able to complete. So, when I saw these beautiful Manga version of the Infernal Devices, I just had to give it a try, not just because I love Manga, but because it still irks me that Cassandra Clare’s books are the only I gave up on (*Spoiler Alert* These still did not help!!). Honestly, this Manga were so interesting on its own. They were so beautifully illustrated and at no point did it feel that the story was dragging or lacking in any way.

Will Herondale and Jem Carstairs, both just took away my heart. Will with his sassy sarcasm and Jem with his adorable maturity. Henry with his eccentricity and Charlotte with her loyalty. And Tessa Gray. Usually, I really hate it when heroines tend to be stuck in a love triangle, and be a little indecisive, but hers couldn’t be helped. If a girl have both Will and Jem vying for your attention, how would she be able to choose? It also did not help that both Will and Jem  were perfect for her. And totally willing to stand back for each other (Honestly, Parabatai are such adorable little dweebs!!)

So, yes I loved the Manga Series but I still wouldn’t  be able to read the series, because now, I fear that it would destroy the wonderful experience reading this Manga was.

Rating and Recommendation:

4.5/5 Stars

I would recommend this for anyone who had the same problem with Cassandra Clare books like I did. But also, for those who loved her books. These would  be amazing companions to the series!

5 thoughts on “The Infernal Devices: The Manga Series by Cassandra Clare and Illustrated by Hyekyung Baek

  1. Lulubelle says:

    Beautifully written! 🙂
    I have to admit I loved TMI and ID! Through it had flaws its one of my favourite 😛 im happy you liked the mangas! I think im going to read the mangas aswell.
    Great review btw 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

