The Precious Stone Trilogy by Kerstin Gier Translated by Anthea Bell

Those Pretty Covers <3

Those Pretty Covers ❤

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

 

Review:

First, let’s just all admire those pretty covers. I mean, those covers just beg you to buy them, don’t they? And that’s exactly what happened. I would have bought these books just because of those covers (Yes, I am a cover snob, deal with it!), the fact that the blurb for this book intrigued me, was just an icing on the cake. 

Second, I wanted to review the first book when I was done, but I couldn’t really muster up the time just because I didn’t want to waste another minute getting on with the series. (I usually do not have a lot of time, trying to be an adult sadly.)

We start off the adventure by meeting Gwyneth Shepard and her best friend Leslie and their weirdly hilarious commentary about their English Teacher Mr. Whitman. And from the start, I realised that this would be one friendship that I would adore and I wasn’t proven wrong. You also get to know that along with Time Traveling Inheritance, Gwenny is different from others. She can see and talk to ghosts, which I admit, she always took with a pinch of salt. 

Of course, as all stories go, one has to have a bitchy female who considers herself better than others, especially the female protagonist. In this case, it was Cousin Charlotte, the one who was supposed to have the Time Traveling Gene in the family. And when it was clear, that she did not, made life hell for Gwenny. 

So understandably, since Gwenny has the Gene, gets to meet all the Members of the Secret Society trying to close ranks, believing that when the blood of all the Gems (The 12 Time Travelers) is added to the Cronograph (The Time Traveling Device) The Secret would be revealed. She also meets, Gideon, the irritatingly aloof Adonis whom she develops a crush on (well, duh). 

There was a lot to love about this series. It was fun, full of adventure and secrets, a sassy heroine, the plucky best friend, the stone gargoyle hosting the ghost of a demon and the aloof yet endearing hero along with a secret society working on the orders of an evil Count. The premise of the story was beautiful, even if it got a little complicated. There were a few times, even I felt a little lost and mixed up the Pasts and The Futures. 

But there were sometimes that it felt quite predictable. From the climaxes, to the action and to the twists and turns. I could actually know what would happen next and that was one big let down. Also, the relationship between Gwen and Gideon at times felt forced, although that maybe only because I like reading from both POV’s rather than just the one. I could only read about the assumptions that Gwen made and the feelings that she had, but I actually had no clue about Gideon’s. 

But the Time Paradox, was beautifully explained. And incidents that felt impossible was explained with such an ease that I actually felt like an idiot not to have realized it sooner. 

The ending though was a little disappointing. I would have liked to have a better tying up of loose ends that was actually done. Especially with Charlotte. 

Rating & Recommendation:

4/5 Stars

I would actually recommend this series to anyone who likes a little complicated Science Fiction, with a little adventure along the side of a sassy heroine.

Side Note:

If I am ever gonna be haunted by ghosts, Send in Xemerius to keep me company, will you, Hades? Because, I seriously want a ghost demon residing in stone gargoyle of my own ❤

12 thoughts on “The Precious Stone Trilogy by Kerstin Gier Translated by Anthea Bell

Leave a Reply

